WEEI>On Demand>>John Dennis, Andy Bessette preview Travelers Championship

John Dennis, Andy Bessette preview Travelers Championship

Jun 12, 2014|

Andy Bessette, the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of The Travelers Companies, Inc., joined WEEI's John Dennis to preview this year's Travelers Championship, which takes place June 16-22 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

We're talking with Andy to set the executive vice president and chief administrative officer of travel good morning anyhow -- I did -- -- very very well another great tournament on tap for the travelers this year. Few of shaping up to beat back just as well for -- we got. Stay out of the top ten in. Involve a lot of coming back which will be terrific and this year we've also got Jason Day you got to Keegan Bradley and Dustin Johnson -- -- they have a list keeps going. I get when travelers does such a good job over the years with this tournament it make sense that you're going to extend and be around for quite sometime you that you sign an extension to continue doing -- Yeah we just get done in -- -- the beginning of the year the -- ten year extension and we're excited about it in. -- a week we did this for a lot reasons because it's really great prep business is great community great charity. But we also want to send a message to the players that we took so long run in Iraq going anywhere and they can't honestly can't be part of other fun things -- doing here. Let's talk money economic impact and charities in particular. -- the just believe actually that while we've been title sponsor over the last seven years over seven million dollars. And then -- which was actually founded in 1952. Is over thirty billion dollars. And so what goes to charities is terrific and we've got some economic impact tests that he's done here. It certainly wouldn't sound that it brings over 25 million dollars a year of economic impact of the economy so that meaningful event. From a lot of different perspectives. But it does great things to charity which is most important. It would seem the travelers has left no stone unturned military appreciation of something that you Rob -- went into the fabric of this golf tournament. It is yeah. They really have military are very co chairs and we're doing that again this year representing. Each branch of the service all active and retired military guys carry give him free to our outpost in. Is just a great week's celebration we get so many things around military to thank them for their service and recognize what they do to ensure our freedom. I -- what the -- nice things and singular things about this particular event is the fan friendly enough for the entire family tell us about the fans on -- the things that you gone out of your way to make sure are in place for your customers. Sure you -- whose views is. And it -- day it would get -- -- the special events around let's meet Saturday at miniature golf course we actually had -- we have a miniature golf let me program in a bridge of marketing and his leading the group by that -- -- celebrity threesome going up. Dirt for 2 hours in the morning and so we go to the kids are there I think to -- -- to do the whole -- you can't you represented -- Yeah secularist -- not a not a -- sodas are the best releasing it on the PGA tour. And I went under undermine that by saying did choose to use CNN. Family date -- to say that slowly and it just great. Without the air for the kids for the families on the practice range and to be able to see golfers up close and personal. -- before I let you go somebody said make sure you ask Andy about the umbrella at the fifteenth hole. You -- at least 44. Floating umbrella between fifteen and sixteen out of -- -- it's terrifically. We shoot that we have approached that it predicted 101000 dollar -- there's charity closest to the tent they had that can't shoot every -- Have a -- that's. And so has become very psychotic. For I guess it's -- determined. And fire branding in dead it's just great brand recognition for has been a lot of fun for everybody and in the end it bring more money to charity. Who's in charge of the weather is my final question. That hit your relief of that but overall same guy. Our hope to present as to whether guys should have a great week next week. Andy pleasure talking with you end -- the Dennis and Callahan program look forward to coming down senior Jarrett. Thank you Randy and Davis set the executive vice president and chief administrative officer of travelers.

Audio On Demand

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-3…

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

It Is What It Is Cast: Brandon Browner gets fired up

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Wednesday's Patriots practice, which featured Brandon Browner getting into it with Kenbrell Thompkins and a couple others.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't wa…

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes reacts to the news that he, along with Jon Lester, have been traded to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Buster Olney, ESPN, on the impending Jon Lester trade, 7-30-14

Multiple sources have indicated that Jon Lester will be dealt before the July 31st trade deadline. Buster talks to MFB regarding possible destinations, and he seems to think Lester will land in the NL Central. He also suggests that the Sox might as well get rid of John Lackey if they're going to deal Lester.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Another news blooper 7-31-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester traded to Oakland 7-31-14

John, Gerry and Meter react to the breaking news of Jon Lester being dealt to the A's.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

John Lackey is traded to …

John Lackey is traded to St. Louis, Lou's emotional roller coaster continues. 7-31-14

Lou goes through the 5 stages of grief, then John Lackey gets traded to the Cardinals.

Jon Lester traded to Oakland and Lou Merloni is pissed 7-31-14

Lou, Christian, and Tim react to the news that Jon Lester and Jonny Gomes have been traded to Oakland for Yoenis Cespedes. Lou hates the deal the move, especially because Cespedes is not arbitration eligible.

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes joins MFB to react to the news he has been traded along with Jon Lester to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

Red Sox turn over 1/3rd o…

Red Sox turn over 1/3rd of their 25 roster by the trade deadline - response and reaction

Biggest trade deadline day in recent memory for the Boston Red Sox... and not in a good way. We discuss it all as the news happens and take your reactions.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - BAD trade deadline deals edition 7-31-14

We tackle four topics, all surrounding the four worst Sox trade deadline deals in recent memory.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

More from this show

Jon Lester traded to Oakl…

Jon Lester traded to Oakland and Lou Merloni is pissed 7-31-14

Lou, Christian, and Tim react to the news that Jon Lester and Jonny Gomes have been traded to Oakland for Yoenis Cespedes. Lou hates the deal the move, especially because Cespedes is not arbitration eligible.

More from this show

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't wa…

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes joins MFB to react to the news he has been traded along with Jon Lester to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

More from this show

Jon Lester scratched 7-30…

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

More from this show

John Lackey is traded to …

John Lackey is traded to St. Louis, Lou's emotional roller coaster continues. 7-31-14

Lou goes through the 5 stages of grief, then John Lackey gets traded to the Cardinals.

More from this show

Weei Writers