WEEI>On Demand>>John Dennis, Andy Bessette preview Travelers Championship

John Dennis, Andy Bessette preview Travelers Championship

Jun 12, 2014|

Andy Bessette, the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of The Travelers Companies, Inc., joined WEEI's John Dennis to preview this year's Travelers Championship, which takes place June 16-22 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

We're talking with Andy to set the executive vice president and chief administrative officer of travel good morning anyhow -- I did -- -- very very well another great tournament on tap for the travelers this year. Few of shaping up to beat back just as well for -- we got. Stay out of the top ten in. Involve a lot of coming back which will be terrific and this year we've also got Jason Day you got to Keegan Bradley and Dustin Johnson -- -- they have a list keeps going. I get when travelers does such a good job over the years with this tournament it make sense that you're going to extend and be around for quite sometime you that you sign an extension to continue doing -- Yeah we just get done in -- -- the beginning of the year the -- ten year extension and we're excited about it in. -- a week we did this for a lot reasons because it's really great prep business is great community great charity. But we also want to send a message to the players that we took so long run in Iraq going anywhere and they can't honestly can't be part of other fun things -- doing here. Let's talk money economic impact and charities in particular. -- the just believe actually that while we've been title sponsor over the last seven years over seven million dollars. And then -- which was actually founded in 1952. Is over thirty billion dollars. And so what goes to charities is terrific and we've got some economic impact tests that he's done here. It certainly wouldn't sound that it brings over 25 million dollars a year of economic impact of the economy so that meaningful event. From a lot of different perspectives. But it does great things to charity which is most important. It would seem the travelers has left no stone unturned military appreciation of something that you Rob -- went into the fabric of this golf tournament. It is yeah. They really have military are very co chairs and we're doing that again this year representing. Each branch of the service all active and retired military guys carry give him free to our outpost in. Is just a great week's celebration we get so many things around military to thank them for their service and recognize what they do to ensure our freedom. I -- what the -- nice things and singular things about this particular event is the fan friendly enough for the entire family tell us about the fans on -- the things that you gone out of your way to make sure are in place for your customers. Sure you -- whose views is. And it -- day it would get -- -- the special events around let's meet Saturday at miniature golf course we actually had -- we have a miniature golf let me program in a bridge of marketing and his leading the group by that -- -- celebrity threesome going up. Dirt for 2 hours in the morning and so we go to the kids are there I think to -- -- to do the whole -- you can't you represented -- Yeah secularist -- not a not a -- sodas are the best releasing it on the PGA tour. And I went under undermine that by saying did choose to use CNN. Family date -- to say that slowly and it just great. Without the air for the kids for the families on the practice range and to be able to see golfers up close and personal. -- before I let you go somebody said make sure you ask Andy about the umbrella at the fifteenth hole. You -- at least 44. Floating umbrella between fifteen and sixteen out of -- -- it's terrifically. We shoot that we have approached that it predicted 101000 dollar -- there's charity closest to the tent they had that can't shoot every -- Have a -- that's. And so has become very psychotic. For I guess it's -- determined. And fire branding in dead it's just great brand recognition for has been a lot of fun for everybody and in the end it bring more money to charity. Who's in charge of the weather is my final question. That hit your relief of that but overall same guy. Our hope to present as to whether guys should have a great week next week. Andy pleasure talking with you end -- the Dennis and Callahan program look forward to coming down senior Jarrett. Thank you Randy and Davis set the executive vice president and chief administrative officer of travelers.

Audio On Demand

Peter King of MMQB with D…

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

It Is What It Is Cast: Patriots training camp is underway

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price recap the first day of Patriots training camp, including Rob Gronkowski's return to the field.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks about the impending MLB trade deadline, 7-23-14

With the non-waiver trade deadline a mere 8 days away, Buster talks about the market for guys like Cliff Lee, Jake Peavy, Koji Uehara, and the injuries Dustin Pedroia might be dealing with.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

Gregg Doyel defends Tony Dungy 7-24-14

Gregg Doyel of CBS joined us to discuss Tony Dungy's comments on MIchael Sam.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Weird Al is #1 7-24-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Christian Fauria reviews …

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

Conflicting reports from the Lester negotiations 7-24-14

Merloni, Fauria, and Benz discuss the conflicting reports regarding the Jon Lester contract negotiations. Red Sox CEO Larry Lucchino said on Dennis and Callahan that Lester wanted the negotiations to be put on hold till the end of the season. WEEI.com's Rob Bradford reports that Lester would be willing to negotiate, if the Red Sox made the right offer.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

Peter King: In New Englan…

Peter King: In New England Darrelle Revis will show why he's a top 2 corner in football

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

John Farrell: No thought of taking Jake Peavy out of the starting rotation at this point

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Sidney Rice chooses his health over everything else with retirement announcement, will this continue to be a trend in the NFL?

We discuss Sidney Rice's retirement from the NFL, and the greater issue, which is concussions and head injuries in the NFL.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Major Details: Ian Browne…

Major Details: Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Danny O Show - Canelo vs Lara recap, Ronnie Shields

Danny breaks down the Canelo vs Lara fight and the controversy. Mike Tyson's former trainer Ronnie Shields joins the show.

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The triumphant return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Steve Buckley on Tony Dun…

Steve Buckley on Tony Dungy's comments 7-22-14

Steve Buckley joined the show to discuss Tony Dungy's comments on Michael Sam.

More from this show

Sox seem to be alive agai…

Sox seem to be alive again, so are you back in?

We talk Sox after a sweep over the Royals at Fenway. We look at fan interest and how nothing in the AL East is even remotely decided at this point.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Starbucks tattoo 7-23-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

More from this show

Weei Writers