WEEI>On Demand>>DJ Bean live from Detroit previews Round One Games 3 and 4. 4-22-14

DJ Bean live from Detroit previews Round One Games 3 and 4. 4-22-14

Apr 22, 2014|

We check in with Mr. Bean live from the D to preview two games of Bruins-Wings action.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

I think it's just -- him his last game and there are it was a lot better rushed him. It's over and gets harder and moving our feet more and in my physical. I think that kind of helped us. And get more chances didn't. Forced them to me actually so. -- you have to do that again and keep working hard and it. Sting -- relentless. That is Bruins defenseman Doug Hamilton talking about tonight's game three Bruins and the red wings. At the Joe Louis Arena our own DJ being from WEEI dot com -- by the way. Will join us as our third man in on Friday joins us right now from Detroit hey DJ I don't. Yeah are you guys. Or greatest your first trip your first trip to Detroit and you are looking forward to it I'll give us from Detroit inside guys set this seeing what you got. It's good you guys I worked for a nice run in the water -- look at the I haven't left. -- the Joe Louis Arena or my hotel much. One idea -- last night I walked by the I walked down some street some guy with a standing behind -- door growled something that was -- to scarier than ever heard in my life. Our second city in America right at at at at it it's been wonderful wonderful. I it would appear based on what -- said this morning he'll have eight defenseman in the warm up. Will make his game time decisions then. But for me it really comes down it would that decision I believe between Andre Amos. I I totally agree and I think that. Did depending on whether or not -- you ready to go and thus the Bruins at -- -- speak to us today. Quote with extremely tightlipped about. Are a key situation only saying that you would take to warm up. And you you wouldn't even answer it's. If Mubarak has played well enough. To make it tough decision for what sparked a rookie is Arrigo. I think it's an interesting case with those who because going in this series obviously you are Cokie. Or -- just because I'll probably could expose Mubarak but. And now you've kind of gone the way it was in the dark for two games so you wonder you do you keep writing Saturday put -- -- in what -- yet. You know DJ dale has been asking the question for two days which team is the real Bruins team the one. Other showed up in that game won and lost one zip or the one that dominated on Sunday. -- what what to run it or or is the answer neither -- somewhere between. Well the poor rob Bradford says the truth lies somewhere in the middle. Because really that is it is a combination of the two I think that the offensively and what they've been able to do strategically -- limiting our public doubt who. In some of their better scores mean we haven't heard grew up like we're in the entire series. That indicate for both of those games I know that that about the -- who scored late in game one. But it kept it relatively quiet advocate being part of that he would -- so effectively -- strategically. About the our identity now the second game to actually got that -- set up in the -- but those are pretty much none of that vertical line. He's in game one so I think. Be Bentley which is keeping them with your team took route pretty much we've seen all season. Offensively bit easier time getting through your -- gamecube and got more what you solid down the stretch from the. When the Bruins play an afternoon game as they did on on Sunday. They generally make a couple of players available to the media a couple of hours before the game and Sunday one of the players -- on -- And I am paraphrasing but it's pretty close to quote -- said generally it doesn't it doesn't work very well when you (%expletive) us off. And I got the feeling that that's how the Bruins played from the minute the puck was dropped Sunday like they were pissed off. Right -- the -- they shouldn't do given how low. I want say you're fairly flat they came out in game one because again people keep forgetting what -- -- they would help Detroit prevailed for a score looked. Through the first six 56 minutes and 58 seconds of that game. But I but I still think that offensively given their struggle people at competed at before and the red -- -- -- vote trying to rile them up obviously didn't work. I do -- -- -- some credit you know at least a -- it is black in broad -- but you know -- For him in Charlotte that's pretty good deal there. Yeah I did you see the home ice advantage that the red wings now have. Factoring into the series. Our idea I'm fascinated by -- Mike Babcock and we talked about your day is one of the smartest coaches in the area are extremely creative. What he's done even with the first two games without the -- Around to look up we support our guys are guys who resided or an amateur tryout agreement a couple of years ago didn't really want them. What you've been able to look back I even on the road playing him against cricket for future that our. Yeah actually scored a goal against -- by albeit something pinball goal but now that he had last change you'd say today that. It or read -- on the -- stuff from Babcock said he still uses unchanged. To get Pavel Datsyuk the way to treat bird relative which makes all the sense in the world -- -- -- to be extinct thing is. Said. What are those lines Bergeron and -- she will go against that two in the other or get plate going down on the fourth line against. And that's either acute voter confidence -- -- -- -- -- major -- -- for the Bruins. Because you'd have a right leasing and -- playing against scratchy pretty much holding their own but because those two young warriors like this is our. We're playing against two veteran -- over. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- We're gonna do it or did it in play or I'll probably get -- for drones -- -- Interdiction strategy or at the rattling but. Certainly should set -- in the Iraq as well. The Bruins had a better road record on the red wings had home record this year. And that's why the fact that the Detroit wrested home ice advantage away from the Bruins in game one doesn't really worry me very much. Yeah I need. -- -- that people keep going back that November 27 game. And I guess recruiters -- like I understand why they keep going back to because it's due to deport sort of bop its part that it should be part people's -- I know they had -- off the one Joe Louis Arena since what 2000 America but you really do that for well what except for the the playoff because. I mean it -- on Friday abilities or playing during the regular season against each other were different. -- that you're seeing out whether it be Datsyuk or Zetterberg in the lineup for -- line up in the it or not in the lineup late fees and in the team in the Bruins not really -- playoff lineup last Sunday met some. I don't take anything good that after the regular seat and into consideration so I don't think improvements. You're. Illusory that they entered and I also business -- lot scarier than going in. -- -- The -- -- out ode to they're going to Joe Louis Arena tied 111 bowl of Phoenix developer. Are we had no we talked last Friday DJ it was a little more difficult no games play NC trying to call what the series is going to be. Just done something that you that you think is gonna happen but you haven't seen that one now you've got two games -- You know what to expect what kind of series -- with a command here Bruins in five red wings in six red wings and probably got. I saw -- hold on to Bruins in six although it gave me that Michael I would. The hidden pretty cautious when I was saying brewing in -- but -- look up they're gonna win this series in five but I was going to be relatively easy series. I still think it's going to be inevitable series for them because as I was saying before. Different moves and Mike Babcock -- The interesting is they may be an. While they may free up certain guys if you free up one guy for Detroit then -- big -- up two or three guys for Boston. I needed it you have to shape and glory against Soderbergh who aren't getting the thing because Soderbergh plans on -- well he did it without outlook we go far. But if you pick out luckily he cracked feet then. Depending on but the -- but let -- doubt -- or. Or when W Wyatt -- beat up your free up some really good scores ought to immediately get the competition so. I still think it's going to be a somewhat meant posters of possible pulpit and say. -- -- -- -- you are being cautious -- -- working for for the globe with a New York Times the Washington Post called my man is just a prediction what you were weren't you being cautious not packed car. Working for WEE. I got thrown out there working for the lowly globe Brooklyn New York are less than what it is. You throw it out there if you say something stupid that's okay that's encouraged. It's the business mature enough to understand that we made stupid president. I'm not saying something stupid up and says yes that's a -- in a what are how what should be dumber OK it is speaking of want you to be dumber and and take some chances. All got a text here from your 24 year old female fan says. -- DJ to get a drink with me when he gets back from Detroit cause I'm not going to Detroit with them. When he gets back -- what address. What he -- leash again. I Kenny about Muster up all the way to tomorrow -- I don't even know this girl. That's right that's right she is that you here's the good news isn't -- that she's passionate that's -- that's what you want right. Okay now which -- looking for. Final question for me at least before we let you go we ended this series -- atop the Bruins had a clear advantage in the goaltending department. Nothing I've seen through the first two games has changed my mind about that. Well yeah I mean I I think that Datsyuk goal in game one was better than people give her credit for could I do think that acute coming into his -- He saw that Turco wasn't completely perfect square it is to spot as such and use the bodies in front as such. But that the congress was saying the other day. If that's what the or anybody else in the NHL probably didn't -- -- and that's something that really only Pavel Datsyuk and do. So you take that one goal that was scored it was just. In saint in Peter -- certainly. And then the other goal is. A parked at the should have been shot. -- -- shouldn't have beaten Jarome Iginla deeply as he did. And certain product -- -- and and in so you can't wait to -- for either of those two goals and he's been completely -- well. And as we've seen throughout the course of the regular season. Jimmy Howard has struggled at times this year. Yeah I mean that those rebounds they're gonna happen it's just the man and I don't think they'll turn over the gonna happen the way they have for whatever reason each of the first game each goaltender has come too far to the net and on the proposed to -- park. Only cowards not to is that people replicas court ought to build though route but yeah I have I think that you saw that the with the Bruins during the the front of the net. There was a lot easier. Lot easier to generate those goals. Against Howard obviously having power please we'll do that for you but yeah I mean I think that we saw more of the Howard says you should expect you don't fall. The game to nothing you can give up four -- -- game but -- to victory in the process is playing well that's -- where. What did you enjoy the game tonight and also attacks -- says he is willing to pick up your scraps and he was that girl's number. So you not to worry about Hershey's you know he'd take off the leash the -- is not. -- you helped to go for it. Don't god bless I have. I am a little bit concerned and it's not a huge concern but a slight concern they play Thursday night game four in Detroit at Joe Louis Arena. Your co hosting with us Friday at 2 o'clock here on Sports Radio. I'm certain are not flying you anywhere so you -- really hall last -- drive and from Detroit back here to get to know you're hearing time. There's the water right outside my hotel in Tokyo crosses takes you to win there. And I think -- a goal and hope that it. That's what we need to to police just asked what that is that's what Andes -- -- exactly a weirdo I'll enjoy the game. You CDR and JBJ being joining us from Detroit where -- be covering the game for WEEI dot com the cover Thursday's game four as well. And then he'll join us and be our third guy in on Friday. That crazy to want. A long series. Yes. Shorter the better I'm Crable -- when you consider that Montreal can end their series tonight with Tampa the playoff hockey playoff hockey. From a good come on this series goes the more bad stuff can happen no he wanna think that way you wanted to get overweight -- -- got to think positive. Dexter says -- your such a homer. Let's just say beat Troy does win will you ever give them credit yes if Detroit wins a given credit. Yes. Get credit for Friday I mean at the Pavel Datsyuk. Is otherworldly. And -- five players in the world who could do what he did on it on that goal on Friday. The Bruins played very well Friday neither today I thought they played really well Sunday and you saw the results. 6177797937. He AT&T expects to 379 and -- so it bother you cold over so why would you think to get pulled over. Why and what you're doing wrong. And everywhere just pulled over -- and just maybe pulled over that sound effect and we kept playing games -- folks like that. 6177797937. -- telephone number it's dale and -- Sports Radio WE yeah.

Audio On Demand

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-3…

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

It Is What It Is Cast: Brandon Browner gets fired up

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Wednesday's Patriots practice, which featured Brandon Browner getting into it with Kenbrell Thompkins and a couple others.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Rob Bradford and Alex Spe…

Rob Bradford and Alex Speier talk with Red Sox Manager John Farrell

Rob and Alex talk with John Farrell about all the moves the Red Sox made at the deadline, what they gave up and what they gained.

The Hub NE Trade Deadline Show 7/31/14

Rob Bradford and Alex Speier are in and talking about all the moves made by the Red Sox at the trade deadline, because the most fun thing about the day is talking about the moves of the day. Red Sox GM Ben Cherington held a press conference talking about the Red Sox moves, and Rob and Alex talk with Red Sox manager John Farrell about the moves made at the deadline.

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes reacts to the news that he, along with Jon Lester, have been traded to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Another news blooper 7-31-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester traded to Oakland 7-31-14

John, Gerry and Meter react to the breaking news of Jon Lester being dealt to the A's.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

John Lackey is traded to …

John Lackey is traded to St. Louis, Lou's emotional roller coaster continues. 7-31-14

Lou goes through the 5 stages of grief, then John Lackey gets traded to the Cardinals.

Jon Lester traded to Oakland and Lou Merloni is pissed 7-31-14

Lou, Christian, and Tim react to the news that Jon Lester and Jonny Gomes have been traded to Oakland for Yoenis Cespedes. Lou hates the deal the move, especially because Cespedes is not arbitration eligible.

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes joins MFB to react to the news he has been traded along with Jon Lester to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

Red Sox turn over 1/3rd o…

Red Sox turn over 1/3rd of their 25 roster by the trade deadline - response and reaction

Biggest trade deadline day in recent memory for the Boston Red Sox... and not in a good way. We discuss it all as the news happens and take your reactions.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - BAD trade deadline deals edition 7-31-14

We tackle four topics, all surrounding the four worst Sox trade deadline deals in recent memory.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

More from this show

Jon Lester traded to Oakl…

Jon Lester traded to Oakland and Lou Merloni is pissed 7-31-14

Lou, Christian, and Tim react to the news that Jon Lester and Jonny Gomes have been traded to Oakland for Yoenis Cespedes. Lou hates the deal the move, especially because Cespedes is not arbitration eligible.

More from this show

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't wa…

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes joins MFB to react to the news he has been traded along with Jon Lester to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

More from this show

Jon Lester scratched 7-30…

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

More from this show

John Lackey is traded to …

John Lackey is traded to St. Louis, Lou's emotional roller coaster continues. 7-31-14

Lou goes through the 5 stages of grief, then John Lackey gets traded to the Cardinals.

More from this show

Weei Writers