WEEI>On Demand>>David Ortiz joins Salk and Holley to preview Game 1

David Ortiz joins Salk and Holley to preview Game 1

Oct 23, 2013|

Ortiz live from the dugout at Fenway Park previews Game 1 and looks back to the ALCS.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Get some of those some of that information for you before we do though we have David Ortiz and unfortunately gonna cut you off for him. David Ortiz joins us right now from the field in the dugout at Fenway Park David how are we have him. I'm doing good you guys on our -- a great -- get excited for baseball that's about three hours away Korea. Right now. You know when we were we were talking earlier with John -- -- -- he was going justice skip ahead in before we ask you about the first game tonight let's skip ahead to game three of four. We were talking about the plant in Saint Louis and he said you're going to be in at least two of those games. You know what's it -- -- transition like for you going from DH in the American League to nationally first baseman. Well -- on. The kind of that is out there every day we're. Some good ideas of other things that I wanna do when I'm out there you know. Good communication we have Pedroia and the -- the guys you know and tried not to be under way. Surgical -- territory in go from there not to do too much. How are you seeing the ball right now David. I don't know originally there. A -- -- pitching staff was obviously very tough they were tough on you a couple hits in the series obviously one of them is the really really big Grand Slam in game two of but he seemed a little in between at times how will things change with the Saint Louis staff. Where maybe you're even less familiar with that. Well I can tell you -- and Detroit series. I feel like. I assume some accuse some Muslims -- there -- regret that we hit it right people. Not that I can doable that someone that kinda got me out. And but I I. I was happy enough but -- or however is that people -- always quick Q and and and -- is where everything that was on who's doing some balls and got a lot you know I'm not gonna get myself -- night I know what I need to be when it goes on some event. Not everything going to be great news and happiness you know you go to Iowa you can go. All 470 in order of -- put me in a heartbeat that's just -- to a game where it. Or -- happy about the whole thing is first will be unit courses in the war. And equitable. Although it hasn't been so we did so this guys they have. That tigers have a really good business the they wasn't giving in at all. And that's with a few that would that's that's with a series it was all about so. Another guy that are targeted -- I know everything. And someone that bridge to step over make you just have no Theres. A lot of press took enough that I hit a Grand Slam because there wasn't supposed to be that guy. So that's the games ago. David I'm glad we have you on because we were just debating about five or ten minutes ago we were just debating. Adam Wainwright vs some of the pictures that you guys saw in the Detroit series. And Wainwright and walker for that example based on what you've seen on video out of those guys compared to you who you saw in Detroit. Well I must tell you one thing. He we've faced another feature make -- certain. -- party being from. Big time I don't think there's another preacher Richardson with right now. Is guy maybe eight -- -- whenever he wanted to. But in any situation with the ground breaking balls later. Changer for -- -- to any -- and I just they -- to everybody. So to be that accurate in an engine in redacted. I'm telling you Adam obviously a basement for too long and it's marketed to get to that level that's why they got -- so well and play. So would you guys it it was scherzer and if you're right we saw was that we saw that we saw the dominant especially. In game two but game six it seemed like guys had a different approach did against him what was it. Well what's aren't they more more beaches you know I mean. This guy was I mean he pound the strike zone really well. Wedding and game one it was the same thing that happened incentives packages. Either leading a race. In the first the first game and taking everything that was close and personal. That some day it would have different approaches go back to our game. And try not to bring everything in and but that is the thing that thing way this -- way Peter Rogers. Beat the rush to mean when when they see themselves in the fourth inning we 67 pitches. The democratic candidate with your own thing and that's that's how -- game you know we've -- we -- speech. We we wore them you know all the way down to that the people you know it's not like lately we wouldn't mind doing way. We are good and and and that's the approach of the city who beat him and I think. We see we we came amid fears that teaching was tough enough. You know I know they. Power pitching. By. I don't think I would because it was so we've sold all -- you you've got to meet you that you made that quality pitch. Q beautiful mountains. And do what you gotta do that and I think Detroit -- -- do what we do about it make the government's stake -- -- They -- quote we just like let them lose an engine and that was India's. Based on powers it was everything. They know the they need to go with a game plan when they believe -- the Versa. David when you look at this Saint Louis team. What do you focus on what what is -- who makes them go. Which -- Oval which players and their lineup and hit it if if band is not as familiar with -- and the National League team who who is going to standout who really who makes them successful. They have a lot of new players. What do you say the leadoff hitter. Awards. -- is very much the whole series against the Dodgers. That guy's a few years. Covered their best this a commitment. Let's get -- Matt carpenter yeah he is the few years and he's the one who started to get you know we we can stop them. And get to Carlos Bertrand -- and in Yadier Molina holidays. When. When Doug -- I'm very. I think there will make. I would features easier way that guy's a professional you have enough Malia are features. Get to be able to keep an open.

Audio On Demand

Peter King of MMQB with D…

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

It Is What It Is Cast: Patriots training camp is underway

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price recap the first day of Patriots training camp, including Rob Gronkowski's return to the field.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Jon Daniels, Texas Ranger…

Jon Daniels, Texas Rangers GM, Joins the Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

Texas Rangers General Manager, Jon Daniels, joins Rob Bradford and Alex Speier to discuss the upcoming trade deadline.

Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

A full version of the Trade Deadline show hosted by Rob Bradford and Alex Speier. Featuring an interview with Texas Rangers GM, Jon Daniels.

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

Gregg Doyel defends Tony Dungy 7-24-14

Gregg Doyel of CBS joined us to discuss Tony Dungy's comments on MIchael Sam.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Weird Al is #1 7-24-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Christian Fauria reviews …

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

Conflicting reports from the Lester negotiations 7-24-14

Merloni, Fauria, and Benz discuss the conflicting reports regarding the Jon Lester contract negotiations. Red Sox CEO Larry Lucchino said on Dennis and Callahan that Lester wanted the negotiations to be put on hold till the end of the season. WEEI.com's Rob Bradford reports that Lester would be willing to negotiate, if the Red Sox made the right offer.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

Peter King: In New Englan…

Peter King: In New England Darrelle Revis will show why he's a top 2 corner in football

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

John Farrell: No thought of taking Jake Peavy out of the starting rotation at this point

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Sidney Rice chooses his health over everything else with retirement announcement, will this continue to be a trend in the NFL?

We discuss Sidney Rice's retirement from the NFL, and the greater issue, which is concussions and head injuries in the NFL.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Major Details: Ian Browne…

Major Details: Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Danny O Show - Canelo vs Lara recap, Ronnie Shields

Danny breaks down the Canelo vs Lara fight and the controversy. Mike Tyson's former trainer Ronnie Shields joins the show.

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The triumphant return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Starbucks tattoo 7-23-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks…

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks about the impending MLB trade deadline, 7-23-14

With the non-waiver trade deadline a mere 8 days away, Buster talks about the market for guys like Cliff Lee, Jake Peavy, Koji Uehara, and the injuries Dustin Pedroia might be dealing with.

More from this show

Christian Fauria reviews …

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

More from this show

Weei Writers