WEEI>On Demand>>It Is What It Is Cast: Preview of the Patriots and Jets

It Is What It Is Cast: Preview of the Patriots and Jets

Oct 17, 2013|

FOXBORO -- WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price look ahead to the Patriots and Jets this Sunday at MetLife Stadium. The 5-1 Patriots look to continue winning ways despite more serious injuries.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Welcome back to Gillette Stadium everybody my name is quite proudly joined as always -- patriots expert columnist for that we BI -- conference right. -- injuries continue to mount Jerod Mayo has been placed on season ending injured reserve with a -- -- for a muscle. -- on Sunday in the fourth quarter. Making quite a bit on the one Darren Sproles he had surgery this week he's done for the year how in the world that the patriots go about replacing. It's -- be a lot like what he did with Vince -- going to be collective you're gonna be a lot of the -- of -- like Dorothy -- Jamie Collins quite possibly -- but it was gonna have to mix and match. You have to make some personnel. It would be right you Rodney didn't run the ball from that you can defense but you -- -- -- headline one of the things that we could -- In their -- they have a lot of hybrids have a lot of guys can do a little bit everything back there I think they're gonna lean on that -- global. I know you're writing about it this week are the patriots. Tipping point for -- is that there is such -- thing possible. The patriots. Injuries mounting up to the point where they hit it. Like if you look at around the league -- you look at traditional powers like the giants in the Steelers and Packers and like you detected. All of these teams. Have struggled a little bit when faced with with -- optical -- the first 56 games of the season. I think depicted that distinguish themselves from the fact that they're a little bit deeper than it was -- coach. But more prepared wait a few of them made it but obviously think all those injuries -- -- that afternoon trading him but it avoided them. Now there is an -- And he went out. But the toll may or may not be available he was not at practice on Wednesday early in that we. Practice you think that -- -- left on Sunday in the second apple felt. What in the world that they do it. But equally I know we talked about it this shifting and personnel with the linebackers I think we're in a few more than in the secondary -- that would -- which we need to put them forty. Move him from speaking over corner and you lean on some of the younger guys whether on armored people been arrested -- you're gonna need. Guys and start stepping up guys were those second third finger. We're going to play more going to have much more global. Danny Amendola he took a vicious hit from one -- -- the second half. In Sunday's win over the saints. Danny on the dole -- got to be somebody billboard and I guess we look forward to is Boston College like he said a week ago is he perhaps the insurance for any Amendola. I'd be really at this point I think all you need to know about Austin College. You'll -- him out -- on that fourth quarter drive that you winning drive. Where you got to -- after concluding that fourth down pass -- to think that would be deprived regardless of what happened with the Amendola. I wouldn't be surprised you more often colleague in this offense in the passing people -- look. -- -- with somebody we talked about a week two when the patriots beat the jets thirteen to ten beta but a bit of a prediction made some headlines in New York wells -- This week collective focus on another defensive -- that would be. Damon snacks Harrison bill -- Bryant hearing a little bit defense what or why is that. I think they're comparisons being made there he does now but obviously that that -- -- -- yet been relatively convinced that. But he one of those beat you in the -- will be tough to run it in the therapies that run defense. But it could only about 75 rushing yards a game one of the best numbers in the lead the patriots have to figure out we've -- -- -- a couple of whether they wanna try to mound with a one run more play action whatever it is they're there to find a way to run the ball against mr. What happened Sunday and why I think the patriots win this game I know that the debate on both sides of the ball when it comes to injuries but I'd be looked at the jets dolphins. In the jets' offense has struggled mightily to this point of the season I don't think it happened -- -- all the scoreboard.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Gr…

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Christian Vazquez with Jo…

Christian Vazquez with Joe & Daveafter the win at Tampa Bay

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

Jon Daniels, Texas Rangers GM, Joins the Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

Texas Rangers General Manager, Jon Daniels, joins Rob Bradford and Alex Speier to discuss the upcoming trade deadline.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Joe Torre forgets The Boss 7-28-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network…

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to talk about David Ortiz, the struggles of Dustin Pedroia, and the Jon Lester contract.

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Patriots Wide Receiver Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Drug Abuse ve. Domestic Violence: Fair Comparison, 7-25-14

Given the recent Ray Rice suspension, many people are comparing it to Josh Gordon getting suspended for repeated drug abuse. Tim Benz doesn't think this is a fair comparison. He explains why.

Gronk being Gronk: Althou…

Gronk being Gronk: Although limited in practice, GRONK IS BACK

We discuss the return of Rob Gronkowski, his comments to the media today, and what a healthy (or unhealthy) Gronk will mean for the 2014 Patriots.

NFL setting a strange precedent by only suspending Raven's RB Ray Rice for 2 games

We discuss the suspension of Ray Rice, and how the act he committed certainly seemed like it warranted a harsher penalty from the strict front office of Roger Goodell.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Dumbass Fan Behavior Edition - 7-25-14

We tackle four topics, all sparked by our interest in the story about the Browns fan peeing on Art Modell's grave this past week.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: A…

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

More from this show

Gronk being Gronk: Althou…

Gronk being Gronk: Although limited in practice, GRONK IS BACK

We discuss the return of Rob Gronkowski, his comments to the media today, and what a healthy (or unhealthy) Gronk will mean for the 2014 Patriots.

More from this show

7-26-14

7-26-14

John Rooke and Scott Cordischi take your calls on the decline of the Red Sox season, contract talks with Lester, the return of football season with NE Patriots and this weeks 3 Things.

More from this show

Kevin Millar, MLB Network…

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to talk about David Ortiz, the struggles of Dustin Pedroia, and the Jon Lester contract.

More from this show

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Weei Writers