WEEI>On Demand>>Red Sox Review: Mikey reacts to the rout of the Rays today at Fenway

Red Sox Review: Mikey reacts to the rout of the Rays today at Fenway

Oct 5, 2013|

Mikey Adams takes a look at an impressive offensive showing by the Red Sox in the first game of the ALDS. The lineup figured out Rays starter Matt Moore and cruised to a 12-2 victory.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Yes every hour they're here I am a writer -- -- this is it's crazy place down here and it's very reminiscent. Of some good old days that we all remember very very well and I'm talking about 2004 you know I think by 07 there was that's complacency but a lack of the genuine enthusiasm that we had in the 2004 season throughout all the playoffs and here it is it's back really honestly this this crowd today. At the ballpark was is very very huge and that's necessarily determine the outcome of the game although it certainly made the red -- feel good about themselves. But just in general walking around the ball partners is crazy freaks all over the place even kids would -- You know yet it is -- -- outside the window here at C -- beards or they're probably 5060 years old but they -- full periods like Napoli. And everybody very very excited about what has transpired here in the opening of the of the series with the Tampa Bay Rays. It was so what did happen in this game we're gonna invite your phone calls all night long here from Fenway Park -- studio if you're if you're in the area. You're driving by and you you feel the urge to would be in waves that will be happy that to know you're listening. As you drive down plants downstream. But in the meantime. This came today was real a little bit of I guess you could say Dicey. Start for Lester in that. Although in deserve -- the fate the guidance the -- first home run. Lester pitched extremely. Well seven and two thirds innings tonight today and tonight. We're beginning of a grand total of three hits he allowed six base runners total with three walks struck out seven and it should have been eight. -- most people that. -- watching the game realized that the yeah harm -- to Byron -- in the second inning was after he really should have been called out on the go on strike three. He Lester walked off the mound the players start lead the field in the apart concede that way in the next -- course. Was you know ballpark to start things off. And the massage were down one nothing and give up another of solo shot. To Ben Zobrist in the fourth inning and you know if you're through the top of the fortress and while we're down two nothing in the Red Sox don't seem to be doing anything. Against. Mr. Moore. On the mound for via the temporary arrangements -- on the flood -- open really beginning. With Pedroia reaching base pop -- when it really strange ball that popped bounced into the into the bullpen for ground rule double but from there it was just kind of like -- hit parade every single Red Sox player gonna hit today. Now all but two one of them all but two of them drove in Iran. Every single Red Sox player in the lineup scored a run. In this ball game you talk about spread the wealth around little details -- two for five. Victor Reno three for four people start to really loved -- the -- he drove in two runs today. Dustin Pedroia was two for five pop the only one for four nobody scored twice. He also walked Napoli one for four with a run scored and RBIs. He also walked again Red Sox all -- ducks on the on all -- today. And it was huge. It was huge two for four for Saltalamacchia with three runs driven in. And a fourteen hit parade Red Sox with their twelve to two victory and added the Tampa Bay Rays. You know we're supposed to become an action on the strength of there. Awesome starting pitching in for the most part statistically they did have -- pitching throughout the course of the year but it Sharjah Fenway Park. For the Red Sox hitters that's where they love to be that's where they flourish and that's where they did the very same thing today beginning in the bottom of the fourth inning against the Tampa Bay Rays to take a one game to none lead. In this series that is gonna go one would move along. Two to Tampa beginning. Six and three record with a 2.4 seven ERA at home. So we're very nice things again tomorrow and the excitement my friends is back the fans of jubilant. Here at the ballpark all of this is kind of like a special surprise for Red Sox fans Beasley. And while it takes awhile to warm it up to people for them to believe what they're seeing as now we're in the playoffs there's truly believe. In this Red Sox ballclub. Based on what they saw them stretch the best record in baseball tied for the best record overall and baseball bat in the home field advantage in all this good stuff so we're gonna -- Open up the phone lines every single one of view and let you have your way. Talking about this Red Sox team or anything else you want to we're not you know. Where are gonna live action. To the Red Sox you wanna talk about last night's Bruins -- fine you talk about the upcoming weekend game. Between the Bengals. And the New England Patriots that's fine too but I know that a lot of you are going to be excited -- talk about your. Boston. Red Sox at 617779. 7937. That's a telephone number once again 6177797937. We'll take a moment here to let the phone lines all fill up those of you drive home at a car. You know dignity celebrated the ball game from all over New England. And our affiliates. This is the Boston Red Sox flagship station and all of our affiliates as we have celebrate. That not just being back in the playoffs but being back -- -- a vengeance. In a twelve to two win man that was a great game. Six or 77797937. Or take a quick break we'll get to all your phone calls right after this live from Fenway Park.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Gr…

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network…

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

Jon Daniels, Texas Rangers GM, Joins the Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

Texas Rangers General Manager, Jon Daniels, joins Rob Bradford and Alex Speier to discuss the upcoming trade deadline.

Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

A full version of the Trade Deadline show hosted by Rob Bradford and Alex Speier. Featuring an interview with Texas Rangers GM, Jon Daniels.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Dogs understand everything 7-25-14

The stories of the day brought to you by Kirk Minihane

Roger Goodell lets Ray Rice off easy 7-25-14

Dino, Meter and Kirk discuss the light punishment given to Ray Rice by the NFL.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network…

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to talk about David Ortiz, the struggles of Dustin Pedroia, and the Jon Lester contract.

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Patriots Wide Receiver Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Drug Abuse ve. Domestic Violence: Fair Comparison, 7-25-14

Given the recent Ray Rice suspension, many people are comparing it to Josh Gordon getting suspended for repeated drug abuse. Tim Benz doesn't think this is a fair comparison. He explains why.

Gronk being Gronk: Althou…

Gronk being Gronk: Although limited in practice, GRONK IS BACK

We discuss the return of Rob Gronkowski, his comments to the media today, and what a healthy (or unhealthy) Gronk will mean for the 2014 Patriots.

NFL setting a strange precedent by only suspending Raven's RB Ray Rice for 2 games

We discuss the suspension of Ray Rice, and how the act he committed certainly seemed like it warranted a harsher penalty from the strict front office of Roger Goodell.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Dumbass Fan Behavior Edition - 7-25-14

We tackle four topics, all sparked by our interest in the story about the Browns fan peeing on Art Modell's grave this past week.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Ian Browne reflects on 10…

Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Danny O Show - Canelo vs Lara recap, Ronnie Shields

Danny breaks down the Canelo vs Lara fight and the controversy. Mike Tyson's former trainer Ronnie Shields joins the show.

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

More from this show

Peter King: In New Englan…

Peter King: In New England Darrelle Revis will show why he's a top 2 corner in football

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

More from this show

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

More from this show

Christian Fauria reviews …

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

More from this show

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Weei Writers