WEEI>On Demand>>Chris Price and mike Petraglia preview the Patriots - Jets game

Chris Price and mike Petraglia preview the Patriots - Jets game

Sep 11, 2013|

Chris and Mike preview Thursday night's Patriots - Jets matchup.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Back here at Gillette Stadium Mike the -- I joined as always by patriots expert columnist for WEEI dot com -- for price. Chris it's -- week has lost a little bit of its luster I think it has I think when you look at history this robbery over the last five plus years I think you can look back to the year Arab. The way to 2006 through 2010 Errol where it was really interesting each and every time these two teams got together really meant something. If lost a little bit of its punch I think there's a counterpoint to the patriots -- -- -- right now it's the ravens but that you dealt so it they'll tell you this week. If we could just as important for a lot of re not the least of which divisional game -- was but -- added emphasis on the. Mohammed -- send offensive lineman for the New York Jets making some headlines in New York radio this week. Saying yeah I expect to be two and -- and we expect to be to know after this game on Thursday night at Gillette Stadium. Rex Ryan steps up in the conference call with New England reporters and says I want our players think in that way what do you think -- that good. I think -- -- a coach that's what I want anger coming out of my locker room you look at the track record. Of the jets over the last thankfully yours though and that kind of -- comes a little bit of baggage so it's always gonna mean something when it jets player. Guarantees of victory it's always going to mean something and I wouldn't be surprised if that. Information had already found its way into each and every New England Patriots -- -- -- they they love that kind of stuff. Belichick loves that kind of stuff we're comfortable with where mr. All right let's talk about the patriots themselves this week Monday and Tuesday just like walk -- Crist now having -- practiced really not a surprise. Both coaches wanna save the bullets both mentally and physically this week for the game because obviously. It's on a short week but when you look at the injuries for the patriots we start with two players obviously Shane Vereen -- out at least several weeks according to most reports with a broken. Left wrist he injured and on the first play of scrimmage on Sunday afternoon and then there's Danny Amendola he likely will not play. On Thursday night those are two big options out of the Tom Brady passing game and out of the arsenal for the patriots. Who steps up and is the next man up. I think you're gonna need to see a great performance -- very good performance anyway out of a handful against including Julian element -- we kind of forgot about over the course the last the last couple years. But he emerged as a real. Offensive threat in the in this season opener he sees hope you over the course of the season there's no reason I think that he can't be a consistent contributor. You're gonna look at some of the rookies some of the young guys -- Tompkins has to step his -- up with targeted fourteen times in the -- in the regular season opener. Looked a little bit on terms so with a tentative at times he's gonna have to not a topic exactly just not as confident when the lights came months -- you gonna need -- -- a better performance out of ethics accept public know there was a question about industry. I think he's gonna -- a year ago Aaron -- -- talked a -- -- a few minutes ago with us about how disappointing was. To have to miss out on the regular seasonal where he wants to go out there as soon as possible so it's gonna fall to the young guys that this group to really step up and make plays. And again Rob Gronkowski expect and to be out this week again yeah I I expect Gradkowski -- again it's a short week I don't think there's any real need to rush him back I think you know if that -- their. But again we've said this before snaps in December are more important for -- out. Even -- in September. What about the defense of side of the ball currents obviously the other and at the other day I think it was that really and unsung part of the game and untold part of the game is how the Patriots defense stepped up in the second half. They allowed the opening half touchdown. Two to the bills and then they really recovered from that is a big reason they won the game. Here it really was when you look at their group particularly the secondary know there was some questions about communication between. Cornerbacks in defensive backs reckoning it only natural for him this season but I think when you look for a standout guy and at first game Kyle Arrington forced to turn over almost came away with a third. When he. Almost got to pick could be Jamie annual so he's a guy to look forward to you again really kind of focus on this week. I'll -- the defense really stepped up I thought you know there were there were two possessions where the bills for touchdown to put together a solid. Steady consistent drives the rest the way the Patriots defense where most of them. -- on the other side of the ball the New York Jets. They aren't improved barks -- Rex Ryan that told us that he. Believes that this jets team it's a lot better way better his words and a lot of people expecting coming into the game. And coming into this season your thoughts on the jets and their chances on Thursday night you know I think it's going to be interesting because there's been so -- we talked about how the patriots are very new and they're just coming off a game where the bills -- if you with a built for the completely the reset button so. -- at the top talent they do I think there's a little bit of a challenge to be unknown when you're talking about the jets. We you can go back to the scene basic fundamentals that people point over last -- years. There's things you can look -- you can point to that are really essential elements of their tact I think they're gonna -- and of them intrigued by it you know Smith knows very impressed. What he was able to do as a rookie his first game going up against him rated debt were collected steal one there but I thought Smith labels should request for a and but still you believe that the yet. Patriots have enough to come out on top is that your -- yeah -- yeah I -- I think that he was going to be competitive probably would but more competitive a lot of people a lot of patriots fans think. But I think it Meehan -- patriots are going to be able to squeeze this when I'm missing you know when he won 172114. I mean it's going to be good dream though. -- right it to be very interesting a lot of new. Changes to the patriots jets rivalry this week and we'll see what happens on Thursday night for -- for price unlike the trolley at Gillette Stadium WEEI. Dot com.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Gr…

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Christian Vazquez with Joe & Daveafter the win at Tampa Bay

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Joe Torre forgets The Boss 7-28-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Three For All: Easy College Classes 7-28-14

The guys discuss their easiest college classes.

With Revis and Browner, should the Patriots Defense be more aggressive? 7-28-14

After comments by Nick Caserio, the guys discuss if the Patriots should adjust their defensive approach after the additions of Brandon Browner and Darrelle Revis

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Red Sox Mistakes - 7-28-14

We talk about four of the biggest mistakes the Red Sox have made over the past 30+ years.

Gronk being Gronk: Although limited in practice, GRONK IS BACK

We discuss the return of Rob Gronkowski, his comments to the media today, and what a healthy (or unhealthy) Gronk will mean for the 2014 Patriots.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

More from this show

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

More from this show

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

More from this show

David Ortiz offends the R…

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

More from this show

Gronk being Gronk: Althou…

Gronk being Gronk: Although limited in practice, GRONK IS BACK

We discuss the return of Rob Gronkowski, his comments to the media today, and what a healthy (or unhealthy) Gronk will mean for the 2014 Patriots.

More from this show

Weei Writers