WEEI>On Demand>>Chris Price and mike Petraglia preview the Patriots - Jets game

Chris Price and mike Petraglia preview the Patriots - Jets game

Sep 11, 2013|

Chris and Mike preview Thursday night's Patriots - Jets matchup.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Back here at Gillette Stadium Mike the -- I joined as always by patriots expert columnist for WEEI dot com -- for price. Chris it's -- week has lost a little bit of its luster I think it has I think when you look at history this robbery over the last five plus years I think you can look back to the year Arab. The way to 2006 through 2010 Errol where it was really interesting each and every time these two teams got together really meant something. If lost a little bit of its punch I think there's a counterpoint to the patriots -- -- -- right now it's the ravens but that you dealt so it they'll tell you this week. If we could just as important for a lot of re not the least of which divisional game -- was but -- added emphasis on the. Mohammed -- send offensive lineman for the New York Jets making some headlines in New York radio this week. Saying yeah I expect to be two and -- and we expect to be to know after this game on Thursday night at Gillette Stadium. Rex Ryan steps up in the conference call with New England reporters and says I want our players think in that way what do you think -- that good. I think -- -- a coach that's what I want anger coming out of my locker room you look at the track record. Of the jets over the last thankfully yours though and that kind of -- comes a little bit of baggage so it's always gonna mean something when it jets player. Guarantees of victory it's always going to mean something and I wouldn't be surprised if that. Information had already found its way into each and every New England Patriots -- -- -- they they love that kind of stuff. Belichick loves that kind of stuff we're comfortable with where mr. All right let's talk about the patriots themselves this week Monday and Tuesday just like walk -- Crist now having -- practiced really not a surprise. Both coaches wanna save the bullets both mentally and physically this week for the game because obviously. It's on a short week but when you look at the injuries for the patriots we start with two players obviously Shane Vereen -- out at least several weeks according to most reports with a broken. Left wrist he injured and on the first play of scrimmage on Sunday afternoon and then there's Danny Amendola he likely will not play. On Thursday night those are two big options out of the Tom Brady passing game and out of the arsenal for the patriots. Who steps up and is the next man up. I think you're gonna need to see a great performance -- very good performance anyway out of a handful against including Julian element -- we kind of forgot about over the course the last the last couple years. But he emerged as a real. Offensive threat in the in this season opener he sees hope you over the course of the season there's no reason I think that he can't be a consistent contributor. You're gonna look at some of the rookies some of the young guys -- Tompkins has to step his -- up with targeted fourteen times in the -- in the regular season opener. Looked a little bit on terms so with a tentative at times he's gonna have to not a topic exactly just not as confident when the lights came months -- you gonna need -- -- a better performance out of ethics accept public know there was a question about industry. I think he's gonna -- a year ago Aaron -- -- talked a -- -- a few minutes ago with us about how disappointing was. To have to miss out on the regular seasonal where he wants to go out there as soon as possible so it's gonna fall to the young guys that this group to really step up and make plays. And again Rob Gronkowski expect and to be out this week again yeah I I expect Gradkowski -- again it's a short week I don't think there's any real need to rush him back I think you know if that -- their. But again we've said this before snaps in December are more important for -- out. Even -- in September. What about the defense of side of the ball currents obviously the other and at the other day I think it was that really and unsung part of the game and untold part of the game is how the Patriots defense stepped up in the second half. They allowed the opening half touchdown. Two to the bills and then they really recovered from that is a big reason they won the game. Here it really was when you look at their group particularly the secondary know there was some questions about communication between. Cornerbacks in defensive backs reckoning it only natural for him this season but I think when you look for a standout guy and at first game Kyle Arrington forced to turn over almost came away with a third. When he. Almost got to pick could be Jamie annual so he's a guy to look forward to you again really kind of focus on this week. I'll -- the defense really stepped up I thought you know there were there were two possessions where the bills for touchdown to put together a solid. Steady consistent drives the rest the way the Patriots defense where most of them. -- on the other side of the ball the New York Jets. They aren't improved barks -- Rex Ryan that told us that he. Believes that this jets team it's a lot better way better his words and a lot of people expecting coming into the game. And coming into this season your thoughts on the jets and their chances on Thursday night you know I think it's going to be interesting because there's been so -- we talked about how the patriots are very new and they're just coming off a game where the bills -- if you with a built for the completely the reset button so. -- at the top talent they do I think there's a little bit of a challenge to be unknown when you're talking about the jets. We you can go back to the scene basic fundamentals that people point over last -- years. There's things you can look -- you can point to that are really essential elements of their tact I think they're gonna -- and of them intrigued by it you know Smith knows very impressed. What he was able to do as a rookie his first game going up against him rated debt were collected steal one there but I thought Smith labels should request for a and but still you believe that the yet. Patriots have enough to come out on top is that your -- yeah -- yeah I -- I think that he was going to be competitive probably would but more competitive a lot of people a lot of patriots fans think. But I think it Meehan -- patriots are going to be able to squeeze this when I'm missing you know when he won 172114. I mean it's going to be good dream though. -- right it to be very interesting a lot of new. Changes to the patriots jets rivalry this week and we'll see what happens on Thursday night for -- for price unlike the trolley at Gillette Stadium WEEI. Dot com.

Audio On Demand

Peter King of MMQB with D…

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

It Is What It Is Cast: Patriots training camp is underway

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price recap the first day of Patriots training camp, including Rob Gronkowski's return to the field.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Jon Daniels, Texas Ranger…

Jon Daniels, Texas Rangers GM, Joins the Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

Texas Rangers General Manager, Jon Daniels, joins Rob Bradford and Alex Speier to discuss the upcoming trade deadline.

Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

A full version of the Trade Deadline show hosted by Rob Bradford and Alex Speier. Featuring an interview with Texas Rangers GM, Jon Daniels.

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Dogs understand everything 7-25-14

The stories of the day brought to you by Kirk Minihane

Roger Goodell lets Ray Rice off easy 7-25-14

Dino, Meter and Kirk discuss the light punishment given to Ray Rice by the NFL.

Drug Abuse ve. Domestic V…

Drug Abuse ve. Domestic Violence: Fair Comparison, 7-25-14

Given the recent Ray Rice suspension, many people are comparing it to Josh Gordon getting suspended for repeated drug abuse. Tim Benz doesn't think this is a fair comparison. He explains why.

Overrated Story Lines From Patriots Training Camp, 7-25-14

Broadcasting live from Gillette Stadium, the guys discuss the overrated story lines from Patriots training camp.

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

Peter King: In New Englan…

Peter King: In New England Darrelle Revis will show why he's a top 2 corner in football

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

John Farrell: No thought of taking Jake Peavy out of the starting rotation at this point

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Sidney Rice chooses his health over everything else with retirement announcement, will this continue to be a trend in the NFL?

We discuss Sidney Rice's retirement from the NFL, and the greater issue, which is concussions and head injuries in the NFL.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Major Details: Ian Browne…

Major Details: Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Danny O Show - Canelo vs Lara recap, Ronnie Shields

Danny breaks down the Canelo vs Lara fight and the controversy. Mike Tyson's former trainer Ronnie Shields joins the show.

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The triumphant return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Starbucks tattoo 7-23-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks…

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks about the impending MLB trade deadline, 7-23-14

With the non-waiver trade deadline a mere 8 days away, Buster talks about the market for guys like Cliff Lee, Jake Peavy, Koji Uehara, and the injuries Dustin Pedroia might be dealing with.

More from this show

Christian Fauria reviews …

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

More from this show

Weei Writers