WEEI>On Demand>>Danny O'Connor previews his fight at the Garden

Danny O'Connor previews his fight at the Garden

Jan 25, 2013|

Mikey and Ryder talk with Danny O'Connor about his fight at the TD Garden Saturday night. What his career has been like and how it feels to be on the verge of his 20th victory.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

You'll have to you me and lines. -- along. How long it's. Then back at. Tunes. You know it. Your name is standing and your Irish. This pretty much through the wrong. Our friend Danny -- O'Connor. Denny O'Connor Framingham zone fight this -- Saturday night that the gag. -- joins is now. Via via the telephone. -- Gary. I won't tell guys how are you married. There were government out -- it's it's only afford it matter which are gonna came into well where you can always combine this. States -- you want to damage that's -- way to fight wanna make sure people knew about what was going on because you know this is this could be the beginning is something real big at the Boston garden and and boxing of course has a big. I history tonight that you never went to the old garden right. No I didn't -- -- and -- well you what -- 27 right. 47 years also act we can all understand that. -- yet never in the -- -- actually missed the -- cattle and also little domestic refiners. Now your fight another local guy -- -- the main event is going to be I think what ten fights. -- I would. Few pros and some local temperatures. It's going to be it's going to be a great show put on very well and the other way and -- -- go -- and -- which commit net. Our -- Decker went. -- forty fives -- you know right on the money you're you're pretty steady this stuff. And I tell me about your your opponent coming up on Saturday night he's from where's -- from Salem Salem mass. Yes -- -- I think he's actually from Beverly. Yeah I mean you know he's a tough opponent comes the play error. You know from Osaka where it -- and so on the -- on the -- about the competition you know it's it's you know. I was so looking into a near the it's a good fighter and you know get their compliment. Beating them -- -- -- -- Now with the speed QB -- some merit to this or twentieth the professional win. Well yeah. One that's a big number that's good and you're on the they're saying a lot of people -- -- you're like right there when it comes to break -- through into national limelight stardom type of scenarios and how you feel about it. You know -- -- -- -- -- -- -- like that you know have a lot of great people around -- you know I don't have a moment of -- and -- established social -- and but city and -- be grateful to be in the position that I am in and keep working hard and you know hopefully some -- They did he would -- when you compare your style -- it is there anyone specifically. Boxers in the pastor. Or maybe we've -- I guess maybe idolize -- are looking at. Nah you know I used to think more like up -- got to force something but every color come back to the corner of one of our local -- the payment doubles that look like that Whitaker is no leader -- costs us. It's not just look like myself and -- it. You know I am a student of the game shall I do see that a lot a lot of sites that I try to you know at that particular from everybody no matter what level there are -- started work. If they've been the gay community just you know in it never could -- Now you're nineteen what are you going to last five and your last fight if I don't if I'm not wrong wasn't September done foxwoods when you beat Sosa. Are -- -- was a third round tko so this is -- -- you're going to win number twenty let me ask -- question because I've heard. There's going to be a somebody. Helping out -- you spit bucket was pretty famous what's the deal on that. Can cases is that almost good -- that bucket person -- he's done a law. And you know he means a lot but he's on -- right now is in Munich so. I needed -- fill -- -- important. Great guy -- -- and step up then and join the coroner came and you know a lot of travel let things get out of -- you got a guy there who can busted up pretty good himself -- Absolutely. Seem a little -- got into particularly excited about it it was a -- flexibility as you you mentioned Ricky had as you style similar to him to school go out terror attack now now you might might as well as. It doesn't really like -- and but you know I think my my everyday life. You know take away all the alcoholism I agree with great care and yet people -- usually normal -- yeah yeah. He likes to have abnormal booting -- -- Followed -- -- time. A day -- -- on -- of merit ten -- feature -- along with that I guess -- -- can be eight fights -- five amateur fights three professional fights. I had the Boston Garden some famous of -- be on hand to for. Autographs I guess Micky ward but he hasn't Marlon starling. Are gonna I don't know it Moochie all of run a mile away from Connecticut have. And I know the bailout I heard the Bruins got a table and if you sporting figures election -- you know it's going to be a great model for. You know the -- for a boxing. Well we love it of course because you know there's nobody -- wants -- to come back from -- its doldrums more than me and there's nothing better than a local flavor and a guy you root for so good luck to Danny. I appreciate I want to RT after the fight. Good -- Danny O'Connor everybody needs he's going added the garden and it's a Saturday -- -- to be a lot of bust on there you know they use about half the Arenas every it's a good seed a 4000 sees great. Surrounding Adobe memorabilia shows there with boxing out. Featured guests. And it should be good night for -- causeway street.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Ha…

It Is What It Is Cast: Has Darrelle Revis' impact actually been underplayed?

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss the latest development at Patriots training camp. Chris says Darrelle Revis has looked great, and that his impact on the defense is actually being underplayed nationally.

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Christian Vazquez with Joe & Daveafter the win at Tampa Bay

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Hillary Clinton wants to change the Redskins mascot 7-30-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

Three For All: Christian'…

Three For All: Christian's girlfriend calls him out, 7-29-14

Christian tells a story about taking his girlfriend to see "Jersey Boys" in NYC, but he leaves out some crucial details. Luckily, she was listening and called the show to clarify exactly what kind of shenanigans he was trying to pull.

The NFL is taking a look at "high-stakes" Fantasy Football, 7-29-14

MFB discuss a Peter King article that suggests many NFL coaches and assistant coaches have felt increasing pressure over big-money fantasy football players. Christian also weighs in specifically on how his knowledge of game-plans resulted directly in him winning his first season as a fantasy football player.

Red Sox routed by Blue Jays as trade rumors swirl, 7-29-14

The Sox lost 14-1 as Clay Buchholz and Felix Doubront both had awful performances. On the heels of the loss, rumors began to fly regarding Jon Lester and John Lackey possibly being traded.

Have we seen the last of …

Have we seen the last of Jon Lester in a Red Sox uniform?

The tweet is a little ominous sounding. Dale, Buck and Greg Dickerson discuss what very well could be the end of the Jon Lester era with the Boston Red Sox.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Championship Hangover Edition - 7-29-14

We tackle four topics all sparked by the Red Sox worst to first to worst run in 2012-2014.

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

More from this show

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

More from this show

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

More from this show

David Ortiz offends the R…

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

More from this show

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

More from this show

Weei Writers