WEEI>On Demand>>Rob Ninkovich recaps Texans, previews Niners and evaluates the improving Pats defense

Rob Ninkovich recaps Texans, previews Niners and evaluates the improving Pats defense

Dec 14, 2012|

D&C chat with the Patriots defensive end/outside linebacker about what a blowout of an elite AFC team does for a team's confidence and the team's attitude going in and coming out of that game. He also helps the boys break down the 49ers by evaluating the differences between San Francisco quarterbacks Alex Smith and Colin Kaepernick.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Rob Ninkovich joins us now our conversation with rob is brought to buy lunch dates and buy more bar make -- Jewelers. Rob has always joins us on the AT&T hotline AT&T forgy LT good morning Mr. Big of a child aria. -- -- -- -- I don't bill -- look check. -- just kind of level headed you know flat line in response to everything doesn't want to get too high with the wind certainly not too low with the loss but I got to ask you. What does a convincing win like Monday night over a quality team like Houston do for the collective psyche of a football team rob. Are -- I think that. You know last week governor if you lose your degree -- -- -- -- you know you're root everybody who watches -- it was going to be a big gains so. I just I think you know we're pretty confident that are we prepared well for that we can and no the wanting that we really have to do is just move on -- is. Greens are helping now so are Mueller pro and obviously -- -- we know that. If we you know work hard all weekend. -- trichet who worked together you know review preach something so I think that -- -- our children. That knowing that if we can play like every -- -- -- very -- retreat so. -- -- Doc Rivers on yesterday he was talking about that he said he said because he was speaking with -- on the -- before and -- that he looked very relaxed Belichick did prior to the game. Is it yeah it was almost like you knew you would studied so much you knew the answers to the test before you took the test that you were confident that you're going to get right is that about right is that is that about how felt going into that game. You know I think the real -- forget about it called Gloria lecture a lecture couple days of mr. prepare them. Never Ramos. With a greater role so not think that we did learn your lesson there that -- You know we prefer -- world. We prefer like that every week. We're going to be pretty units so. Again such as well those things where. Yeah you know you have registers let's not do a better so -- we're pretty pretty excited about that game on the other you sort of put -- into. Tom Brady said after the Thanksgiving game we had a little time mini review the the niners film and gotta look at them early because of the short week when did you start looking at the niners and what do you think. Are you are approaching them but few games throughout the year obviously that has some them into achieving your notebook that'll walk him -- Or after last week at. Watch what -- -- couple games -- force your quarterback is such units and they changed since. He's been there and -- In other surrogate team obviously arm. That is one of the best. A short while so are. No murder rate -- we don't make sure. This little -- organ. Do you look at both Alex Smith and snapper -- still in the eventuality that. Either one gets in there yet you know I mean you watch the game meant just you know he can't offer. Who's better. What there. We're both quarterbacks I mean obviously all other. There also are so -- -- starter so a little bit what's the difference. On film what do you see that's different obviously you know. Number seven is a little bit more mobile. -- get out of trouble. -- this -- Yeah astute secure rather rent so. We definitely have you feel where you know. On the ball and use that just the -- also. It must do your heart good to to know and see and feel the results of this defense improving week by week undermine rob what's been the catalyst. This hasn't had this defense. Rise up in it and get better and and play better in in the last 45 weeks. Nothing -- everyone coming together. Opt out and saying it since week to week three report that every week we're going to better improve. Our -- -- a little aren't cute little -- -- and so -- together particularly burger double. Arm. You know just. Tore through a year. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Early years. Not a -- -- we are fighting or have -- it not been there they've heard the million turnover ratio are slow -- for personal -- Our rob good luck -- and I talked this week. Rob Ninkovich for Dennis and Callahan a conversation with rob is brought to buy lunch dates and by Bart making Jewelers who joins us on the AT&T hotline.

Audio On Demand

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-3…

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

It Is What It Is Cast: Brandon Browner gets fired up

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Wednesday's Patriots practice, which featured Brandon Browner getting into it with Kenbrell Thompkins and a couple others.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Sox Manager John Farrell …

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Buster Olney, ESPN, on the impending Jon Lester trade, 7-30-14

Multiple sources have indicated that Jon Lester will be dealt before the July 31st trade deadline. Buster talks to MFB regarding possible destinations, and he seems to think Lester will land in the NL Central. He also suggests that the Sox might as well get rid of John Lackey if they're going to deal Lester.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Hillary Clinton wants to change the Redskins mascot 7-30-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

Buster Olney, ESPN, on th…

Buster Olney, ESPN, on the impending Jon Lester trade, 7-30-14

Multiple sources have indicated that Jon Lester will be dealt before the July 31st trade deadline. Buster talks to MFB regarding possible destinations, and he seems to think Lester will land in the NL Central. He also suggests that the Sox might as well get rid of John Lackey if they're going to deal Lester.

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

John Farrell with Dale an…

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Making sense of all the trade talk with WEEI.com's Alex Speier

We check in with Alex on the eve of the trade deadline.

Waving goodbye to the ol' Lefty? Jon Lester appears headed out of Boston

We respond and react to the news that Jon Lester may no longer be a member of the Boston Red Sox once the trade deadline passes.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

More from this show

Jon Lester scratched 7-30…

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

More from this show

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

More from this show

How does Tom Brady's lead…

How does Tom Brady's leadership help the Patriots? 7-29-14

John, Gerry, and Steve DeOssie discuss Tom Brady's impact on the rest of the Patriots, plus Steve tells tales from his old days as a NFL linebacker

More from this show

Have we seen the last of …

Have we seen the last of Jon Lester in a Red Sox uniform?

The tweet is a little ominous sounding. Dale, Buck and Greg Dickerson discuss what very well could be the end of the Jon Lester era with the Boston Red Sox.

More from this show

Weei Writers