WEEI>On Demand>>Rob Ninkovich recaps Texans, previews Niners and evaluates the improving Pats defense

Rob Ninkovich recaps Texans, previews Niners and evaluates the improving Pats defense

Dec 14, 2012|

D&C chat with the Patriots defensive end/outside linebacker about what a blowout of an elite AFC team does for a team's confidence and the team's attitude going in and coming out of that game. He also helps the boys break down the 49ers by evaluating the differences between San Francisco quarterbacks Alex Smith and Colin Kaepernick.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Rob Ninkovich joins us now our conversation with rob is brought to buy lunch dates and buy more bar make -- Jewelers. Rob has always joins us on the AT&T hotline AT&T forgy LT good morning Mr. Big of a child aria. -- -- -- -- I don't bill -- look check. -- just kind of level headed you know flat line in response to everything doesn't want to get too high with the wind certainly not too low with the loss but I got to ask you. What does a convincing win like Monday night over a quality team like Houston do for the collective psyche of a football team rob. Are -- I think that. You know last week governor if you lose your degree -- -- -- -- you know you're root everybody who watches -- it was going to be a big gains so. I just I think you know we're pretty confident that are we prepared well for that we can and no the wanting that we really have to do is just move on -- is. Greens are helping now so are Mueller pro and obviously -- -- we know that. If we you know work hard all weekend. -- trichet who worked together you know review preach something so I think that -- -- our children. That knowing that if we can play like every -- -- -- very -- retreat so. -- -- Doc Rivers on yesterday he was talking about that he said he said because he was speaking with -- on the -- before and -- that he looked very relaxed Belichick did prior to the game. Is it yeah it was almost like you knew you would studied so much you knew the answers to the test before you took the test that you were confident that you're going to get right is that about right is that is that about how felt going into that game. You know I think the real -- forget about it called Gloria lecture a lecture couple days of mr. prepare them. Never Ramos. With a greater role so not think that we did learn your lesson there that -- You know we prefer -- world. We prefer like that every week. We're going to be pretty units so. Again such as well those things where. Yeah you know you have registers let's not do a better so -- we're pretty pretty excited about that game on the other you sort of put -- into. Tom Brady said after the Thanksgiving game we had a little time mini review the the niners film and gotta look at them early because of the short week when did you start looking at the niners and what do you think. Are you are approaching them but few games throughout the year obviously that has some them into achieving your notebook that'll walk him -- Or after last week at. Watch what -- -- couple games -- force your quarterback is such units and they changed since. He's been there and -- In other surrogate team obviously arm. That is one of the best. A short while so are. No murder rate -- we don't make sure. This little -- organ. Do you look at both Alex Smith and snapper -- still in the eventuality that. Either one gets in there yet you know I mean you watch the game meant just you know he can't offer. Who's better. What there. We're both quarterbacks I mean obviously all other. There also are so -- -- starter so a little bit what's the difference. On film what do you see that's different obviously you know. Number seven is a little bit more mobile. -- get out of trouble. -- this -- Yeah astute secure rather rent so. We definitely have you feel where you know. On the ball and use that just the -- also. It must do your heart good to to know and see and feel the results of this defense improving week by week undermine rob what's been the catalyst. This hasn't had this defense. Rise up in it and get better and and play better in in the last 45 weeks. Nothing -- everyone coming together. Opt out and saying it since week to week three report that every week we're going to better improve. Our -- -- a little aren't cute little -- -- and so -- together particularly burger double. Arm. You know just. Tore through a year. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Early years. Not a -- -- we are fighting or have -- it not been there they've heard the million turnover ratio are slow -- for personal -- Our rob good luck -- and I talked this week. Rob Ninkovich for Dennis and Callahan a conversation with rob is brought to buy lunch dates and by Bart making Jewelers who joins us on the AT&T hotline.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Gr…

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network…

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

Jon Daniels, Texas Rangers GM, Joins the Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

Texas Rangers General Manager, Jon Daniels, joins Rob Bradford and Alex Speier to discuss the upcoming trade deadline.

Trade Deadline Show, 7-24-14

A full version of the Trade Deadline show hosted by Rob Bradford and Alex Speier. Featuring an interview with Texas Rangers GM, Jon Daniels.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Dogs understand everything 7-25-14

The stories of the day brought to you by Kirk Minihane

Roger Goodell lets Ray Rice off easy 7-25-14

Dino, Meter and Kirk discuss the light punishment given to Ray Rice by the NFL.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network…

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to talk about David Ortiz, the struggles of Dustin Pedroia, and the Jon Lester contract.

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Patriots Wide Receiver Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Drug Abuse ve. Domestic Violence: Fair Comparison, 7-25-14

Given the recent Ray Rice suspension, many people are comparing it to Josh Gordon getting suspended for repeated drug abuse. Tim Benz doesn't think this is a fair comparison. He explains why.

Peter King: In New Englan…

Peter King: In New England Darrelle Revis will show why he's a top 2 corner in football

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

John Farrell: No thought of taking Jake Peavy out of the starting rotation at this point

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Sidney Rice chooses his health over everything else with retirement announcement, will this continue to be a trend in the NFL?

We discuss Sidney Rice's retirement from the NFL, and the greater issue, which is concussions and head injuries in the NFL.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Ian Browne reflects on 10…

Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Danny O Show - Canelo vs Lara recap, Ronnie Shields

Danny breaks down the Canelo vs Lara fight and the controversy. Mike Tyson's former trainer Ronnie Shields joins the show.

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The triumphant return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

More from this show

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Starbucks tattoo 7-23-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Peter King: In New Englan…

Peter King: In New England Darrelle Revis will show why he's a top 2 corner in football

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

More from this show

Weei Writers