WEEI>On Demand>>Previewing the Patriots Eagles preseason game

Previewing the Patriots Eagles preseason game

Aug 20, 2012|

Mut and Kirk talk some football and discuss the Patriots hectic preseason schedule.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

As you know we are kicking off our eleventh annual Jimmy Fund radio -- tomorrow at 6 AM with the NC live -- ways part of our event. As a great auction items leading up until tomorrow's first of eight -- broadcast and today is four RBC alarms are Notre Dame alarms. And our college football fans you guys step up big time. All the benefit the WEEI -- and Jimmy Fund radio tell -- got four premium lower level seats the Notre Dame game BC football Notre Dame game. November 10. Includes a game day parking pass an invite to the pre game hospitality. Along with four pregame and don't feel passes for BC Notre Dame the current bid is 900 dollars or BC alarms and Notre Dame alarms are college football fans. You can bid right now at 6179311850. Is the deadline only. At 6179311850. The auction benefiting the WEE and -- and Jimmy Fund radio telethon. On another weekend and NFL officials which will get to but a whole week about the patriots -- play tonight. -- Saturday to play early -- of fright night. Friday excuse me. And an early next week three games in ten days for a league that does a lot of things well and made nine billion dollars in revenues a year ago. Get three exhibition games for team like that over the course of ten days the meat doesn't seem like the best way to go about trying to figure out OK let's get ready for the year let's figure out who can make this -- Does seem strange year and a fourth game doesn't mean a whole lot but the big guys out there will be on the roster so yeah it's it's. That seems a just a scheduling -- much or how they arrived at that the given this much time off then pack three games and there. And of these explanation for the addition of a motorist with their answer would be but it doesn't make any sense it's. We're scheduling quirk and the patriots are on the wrong end of it hurt Rico today with Dennis and Callahan he's two and again with gruden and ESPN. And he said he talked to the patriots you think there are some big name players one in play in this game tonight because they have. All these games stacked on top each other that some of these starters and I split them up where. That's how electrical saints some guys might play tonight not playing game three some guys might. Not play and -- like it's a weird setup and if you believed to Rico is pregame conversation with the patriots. You might not see some of the guys are expected. That makes sense right into the patriot that's exactly and play these guys. Twice in a weaker three times intended to play again Friday yet at the mix is snow early makes sense to play these guys any real anyways but then do it. Twice a week now that's no way that can happen. Our terms of what you look. What you're looking for as the patriots fan as observer of -- -- in the exhibition season Israeli one thing on -- populist that a concern area for you of like. Is like god sees what I wanna see the most in these games don't see nobody coming on the stretch that's number one -- -- -- that's clearly I swear that's really about it I mean. To do things good of course all watched Jones won't keep an -- high tower accurately else does. The office a mock concern about sure you know he policies sold during most of them is going on there but. Big picture no it was Richard guys don't get hurt. It's a social between this is we don't -- NFL guys to begin there was say listen which the scrimmage guarding him -- is somebody gets hurt I do feel that way. I -- with the I think the way it's handled and treat it like this regular like it's -- real game. And fans are charged full freight on their season ticket packages for these exhibition games a joke in the NFL years ago said I told the media. Stop called an exhibition please call pre season football so doesn't seem like it's right there of scrimmage but it's a glorified it's 30 and don't look today. Course muzzle discharge -- do seven on seven do some drills and and get these guys ready -- the patriots and saints got ready. With today's joint practice and a scrimmage Tampa -- to box mrs. That makes a lot more sense than three games in ten days where. -- -- It's managed few minutes for guys manage your roster spots it's gonna make it tough for the patriot I would think at some level. -- may be determined the final couple roster spots because some guys who can't play three times attendees issues. Not just -- -- -- -- champion of the world but this odd situation I have no idea how the NFL came to seclusion they were the schedule -- three games. In ten days is just really except that final game at third and trying to figure it's a roster stuff and they've -- to do that. Because of the situation I mean -- it's gonna be this huge problem but -- certainly keep an eye on shore. We -- the when I go back and forth thing -- talked about this offensive line quite a bit now we still. Still don't know exactly what it's gonna look like opening day against Tennessee but it -- Mankins is back in there and dates older had one bad game he's gonna go back to being. The other got a projected as they took in the first round pretty high pick for a left -- having. I feel fine about this offensive line a -- water drawback would be huge for them -- -- -- or -- Ballmer is back is the let's concern that's -- -- we learn anything tonight about Allen tallied all Republicans playing in his -- -- always -- -- him the priciest thing that's gonna happen I think that there are concerns about the loss of line if those things girl worst case scenario if not to discard Mickey's record. Given the fact the guys are I need to -- regular season. Calamity here a couple of games from these guys African make any. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Belichick -- badly Santa Belichick about under Scarnecchia aren't accurate OK sure and disconnect it was opposite like stock would have been a real concern. In certain games you'd think that you'll beat the -- the giants in some big gains -- last couple years right let me have exploited the weaknesses of the patriots and shut they got Matt Light out and I forget which or guest told us a Super Bowl week Matt Light a foam ball and -- NA in a phone Booth. Make a goal all one and use data lettuce and legal round Matt Light -- in the -- there. Occasionally got a game by game basis for large portion of the seas that's I mean never has always going to be no -- individual game -- that's the reality of it there for over an eight game and game sixteen game has been a problem yet. Until the problem. I figure it's going to be okay. Of the position a group -- most interest and again to -- tonight will be that front seven because of any group got a -- chance to change. The perception this patriots team at that front group and getting a -- appalled. Here pre season it -- part of his guy Greg Bedard and -- -- these great practice reports there are great but your Reid knows and it's like -- -- now one on ones and in your your urinary -- great Chandler Jones has been an out Trevor Scott -- plays and we know. You know Wilfork is going to be Wilfork upfront. But there's been sort of hype built around its front seven and I think that's the chance that improved the most this team think about their front 72 years ago. There're so many different faces up front right now if that group creates pressure. I'm still -- in the secondary but I subscribe to the thought that if I pressure the quarterback. And it's my secondary better automatically. Shortly Durbin thinks that that's one group to keep rely on -- Salinas Jones thing is fascinating you don't. Wanna get to higher too -- but the guy in pre season after lying yourself being disingenuous if you watched Jones -- -- -- while it might be something here I mean everybody thought that. Washington the other night -- -- -- the same thought right he's a freak athlete dilemma that we don't want to know them well during a pre season game at the same time if you watch that you have to seek peace that there may be something you're the obscene. This team forever on top of that you're getting that the writers around this team ever this couple times. Our pulp thriller brought it up that that -- they drafted Chandler Jones. The thought was okay from a pass rushing standpoint. It'll probably take in the year to develop that arsenal moves. To get past offensive -- -- the same thing couples moves now -- a maybe there'll be a red -- -- Belichick redshirt year patriot redshirt year necessary. But they'll get that up patriots Cologne Chris Weis talks about her on Chandler Jones now he's an impact in if he is. We all high towers gonna commit -- play right away as captain -- Alabama he seem already play -- Selig or the upside guy at those guys are there. In your place what you lost and Andre Carter -- last year Mark Anderson doubled while I just -- that's going to be tough. From rubber stamp what actually right yeah that's going to be tough to do but yet if he's ready to go impact from the start. That's unusual for Belichick teams Syracuse peppered -- -- -- play. He's gonna play if he -- if you -- Cisco does Huckabee is waiting period goal right from the start not -- check you know he knows how to put Jones in a position. We had guys like this policy Willie McGinest but he had these tall tall guys who get on the end they can put a hand down they can drop and cover Edward Jones has been a factor -- the saints. You heard that over and over again that he dropped and -- covered with knocking out passes and Jason Pierre Paul -- its way to use picture by the -- comparison you physically look at him yeah I see the comparison but. This is what happens to play one currency be done nothing to be talking about being looked good -- to the quarterback a lot now. Pretty office of one of the few times to get excited I get that the patriots and you're dying to seek out like this it's the quarter backlog. A young guy who's going to be around for -- sure -- popped up to. If they'll look at as what they do with a wide receivers tonight terms the rotation in Jabar Gaffney banged up over the week late last week into the weekend. -- -- -- That speculation theirs has gotten fewer reps in the patriots beat writers thought he might get. And it Donte' Stallworth is kind and camp and started to get more more than Deion Branch -- -- place -- wonder from a numbers -- crunching the numbers. Who's that wide receiver that doesn't make the team is their chance. It's Jabar Gaffney is there a chance that because of the injury slows him down the guys get more reps the Gaffney who I thought was seen as a lock coming into camp. Why did the odd man out there and how many wide receivers they taping a couple four backs on the Ross and an actor tight end this year so is -- data and numbers crunch game. At the Stallworth. And like all three of those guys can make the team that you out religiously but the rotation tonight but I if you. Just -- -- team healthy you know every single guy no stretcher moment no need help off the field. If they're healthy I don't care scorers tonight and help Eagles -- -- Russert a hundred yards and quarterback you care or don't it's not trusting them. According to be twice and I keep up -- does you don't wanna see that kind of stuff it's true became -- -- good you can't record plays great night just for example. You can't say well Kate back -- for sure McCourt replaced terribly cancer wasn't the same quote such -- to pre season those that physically those guys. Art is engaged mentally it would be a regular season it's honestly helping to. And we get to see then they'd be dynasty that Mike Vick is that is building here in in Philadelphia may have won anything yet Philadelphia Mike -- again. The Sunday conversation ESP and stood by his comment. Building a dynasty like figured total picture. Forty homers and Ron Jaworski and on the way to fight this with just group that yeah it's still get a good answer for that like -- is not part of a group. I enjoyed jaws in that -- I've got more of -- lesser group was a group that pushed -- -- group include the star of the broadcast you know good or bad etiquette. For you as the B I like the balance toward -- -- -- -- -- he's good but he loves him but he bought every wants the coach again no -- to say it breaks are ranked doubles spot this week saw. He said I'm going to coach again. If the jobs -- and do it he's good he's the first years kind of revelation this guy's unbelievable. He's kind of become a parody of what you thought Jon Gruden might be like -- you never hear anything negative ever. By the player and jaws look he was not super negative either but a body balance and help and -- you knew jaws knew he's not gonna work in the NFL. So -- got the Eagles homers -- east you know former eagle on self but. I like detrimental. -- -- I agree I and I don't they don't always work at all that work -- agree that. Out we'll talk Allen -- Brooke like your phone calls in your don't go when you're too much Lugar and.

Audio On Demand

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-3…

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

It Is What It Is Cast: Brandon Browner gets fired up

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Wednesday's Patriots practice, which featured Brandon Browner getting into it with Kenbrell Thompkins and a couple others.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Sox Manager John Farrell …

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Buster Olney, ESPN, on the impending Jon Lester trade, 7-30-14

Multiple sources have indicated that Jon Lester will be dealt before the July 31st trade deadline. Buster talks to MFB regarding possible destinations, and he seems to think Lester will land in the NL Central. He also suggests that the Sox might as well get rid of John Lackey if they're going to deal Lester.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Hillary Clinton wants to change the Redskins mascot 7-30-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

Buster Olney, ESPN, on th…

Buster Olney, ESPN, on the impending Jon Lester trade, 7-30-14

Multiple sources have indicated that Jon Lester will be dealt before the July 31st trade deadline. Buster talks to MFB regarding possible destinations, and he seems to think Lester will land in the NL Central. He also suggests that the Sox might as well get rid of John Lackey if they're going to deal Lester.

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

John Farrell with Dale an…

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Making sense of all the trade talk with WEEI.com's Alex Speier

We check in with Alex on the eve of the trade deadline.

Waving goodbye to the ol' Lefty? Jon Lester appears headed out of Boston

We respond and react to the news that Jon Lester may no longer be a member of the Boston Red Sox once the trade deadline passes.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

More from this show

Jon Lester scratched 7-30…

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

More from this show

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

More from this show

How does Tom Brady's lead…

How does Tom Brady's leadership help the Patriots? 7-29-14

John, Gerry, and Steve DeOssie discuss Tom Brady's impact on the rest of the Patriots, plus Steve tells tales from his old days as a NFL linebacker

More from this show

Have we seen the last of …

Have we seen the last of Jon Lester in a Red Sox uniform?

The tweet is a little ominous sounding. Dale, Buck and Greg Dickerson discuss what very well could be the end of the Jon Lester era with the Boston Red Sox.

More from this show

Weei Writers