WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Feb 29, 2012|

Doc Rivers spoke to Sean Grande during tonight's pregame show about all things Celtics, including recent trade rumors.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics are presented by -- continues from TD garden that's right from way. From TD garden the first time in two weeks on the back of our home floor over a conversation with their coach remains the same brought to you by our -- -- health care. Making health care work better I don't know what to do when -- beginning by talking about the injury there's some I know this is really the first time man. I'm trying to -- at the same injury suspension news you know dislocated fingers that would ever missing the fonts. The first time I can remember you've had the same lineup going in that you need you're gonna have. There it is. Got to practice what they can play again and -- play another -- it's a trend for the second half I can go. Really it's optimism we have a lot that's. That's why I like being -- with these diluted optimism is who is out. Well there was optimism the first quarter last night and you've got to practice he said on Monday in Cleveland. Was some of the things that you he can practice on Monday is that what we saw him. There was great ball movement was was was fantastic the floor space. We had guys cutting and then we went back into our turn over vote and that changed the game -- -- the spirit of the game because. One of the things we talked about that smaller guys doing pretty good job in -- middle of a sudden it changed and I thought guys really got dispirited because they. You know it that the tow do one thing that's good they wanna do well and when -- when it wasn't going well for them in effect. You mean as opposed to teams that will check out what things are going good practice yes -- points in the -- last night that was something that solves Kevin Garnett is one example make you concerted effort to get. To get in deeper to catch and we haven't seen a lot of nights where does that particular category you Dominique. Yeah it was a a point of emphasis as well and Procter and for that game especially -- -- sleeping tonight I mean we have. Do what we did tonight offensively. Avery is even given what he did Jameer Nelson that night was that his best game laughed like yeah I thought it was his best total -- I think when leveraged. Before last night was he says some glory -- and legendary. At this position. Last Friday that -- you know -- -- -- and around the -- Mercury extremely well. He's pretty good. But what we did was he made it more difficult for curry to score and more difficult for the immediate answers that off. And more importantly he knock down open shots and he cut. When -- both the cut -- boy that was used. That's what I was gonna wanna get too because it seemed were starting to see the things. When the game slows down a little bit they slowed down defensively was always gonna do with what he can do when he found it figured out that -- -- skills but last -- there were couple moments. You can -- the team offensively just going a little slow for him and we talked but that's what second make all the difference in the world really. And he's comfortable he knows where guys are going to be there and so he's very comfortable. Tracy's in the NBA -- -- -- talking about it basically begins at midnight essentially the way this season is enough when you're playing with their times at the trade deadline is your name was sort prominently mentioned whether it's gonna vote. When you get a so no -- Obviously the only time that I -- I can remember every being in the -- The year before mystery. Right reported that line there's rumors that all of them. Break of the team and I mean nominee that you guys. You know had value and I was Smart and know what it means. -- -- and then I got that but it didn't really affect me. If there ever a time as a coach is there ever a time where it is something you dress with Hitler it's 12% on the world -- -- yeah there's time to me when you get so heated talks. I mean when. You hear about not only talks with injuries and how close they are. That affects -- in some weird you leave alone some players to auction rate last year. You know we really never had a big talk about it you know some guys we will. Is there a if they're -- -- is it different now because. Everything. Between Twitter and FaceBook and MySpace and every other possible social media outlet. There were -- there now and agents and or you know obviously heavily involved is it. Harder now or is it easier to say things register rumor because literally -- percentage of things that are made up is much greater. Well I don't know what it's it's harder. Now because some of the rumors are just silly. You know -- get into what the rumor was there was a rumor. 34 weeks ago that I can tell you it was never talked about in all our Sony's PU and I heard people talk him out of -- questions about those that while. It's amazing. I can guarantee you. It had been approached no one talked about it and our organization yet. It's new rules now. That it's a treat we're considering and I thought that that was completely under our real quick. On the books that obviously you know which again -- what Scott's house team on the other side by that one player that nobody they're gonna know the -- they don't know Ersan Ilyasova before tonight cancel singer Conan Nolan because he has not only has no. Have. That what optimism is pouring -- and he is the kind of player the year the is happening that is giving you. Well -- energy player athletic. Relentless. He relentlessly attacks that every room had a big chip in last right that's just who you isn't. He's -- he's still young I think people forget about him -- think this guy has been probably buy 427. Married at night and -- I thought when it recently for. Mean he's still very young basketball -- between people there I don't remember. 26 years ago. That's the head coach it's the Celtics if the Milwaukee Bucks and it's next WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Pa…

It Is What It Is Cast: Patriots training camp is underway

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price recap the first day of Patriots training camp, including Rob Gronkowski's return to the field.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk cleared as Pats prepare for start of training camp

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss the start of Patriots training camp. Players began arriving for camp on Wednesday, and Bill Belichick broke the news that Rob Gronkowski has been cleared to play.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Buster Olney, ESPN, talks about the impending MLB trade deadline, 7-23-14

With the non-waiver trade deadline a mere 8 days away, Buster talks about the market for guys like Cliff Lee, Jake Peavy, Koji Uehara, and the injuries Dustin Pedroia might be dealing with.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Larry Lucchino says the S…

Larry Lucchino says the Sox have tabled contract talks with Jon Lester 7-24-14

Larry Lucchino discussed the latest on the contract talks with Jon Lester.

Gregg Doyel defends Tony Dungy 7-24-14

Gregg Doyel of CBS joined us to discuss Tony Dungy's comments on MIchael Sam.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Weird Al is #1 7-24-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Christian Fauria reviews …

Christian Fauria reviews his Madden ratings 7-24-14

EA Sports released its QB ratings for Madden 15, placing Tom Brady tied for 4th with Russell Wilson. The discussion quickly shifted to Christian's Madden ratings and his perceived lack of awareness

Conflicting reports from the Lester negotiations 7-24-14

Merloni, Fauria, and Benz discuss the conflicting reports regarding the Jon Lester contract negotiations. Red Sox CEO Larry Lucchino said on Dennis and Callahan that Lester wanted the negotiations to be put on hold till the end of the season. WEEI.com's Rob Bradford reports that Lester would be willing to negotiate, if the Red Sox made the right offer.

Chris Price, WEEI.com, Analysis from Day 1 of Pats Training Camp 7-24-14

Chris Price of WEEI.com joins the guys to discuss the key position battles going into camp, as well as the contract status of Devin McCourty

John Farrell: No thought …

John Farrell: No thought of taking Jake Peavy out of the starting rotation at this point

We check in with the manager of the local nine to get his take on the Sox recent hot run, the performance of the pitching staff and much more.

Sidney Rice chooses his health over everything else with retirement announcement, will this continue to be a trend in the NFL?

We discuss Sidney Rice's retirement from the NFL, and the greater issue, which is concussions and head injuries in the NFL.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Patriots Preview Edition - 7-23-14

We tackle four topics all revolving around predictions and concerns for the Patriots entering the 2014 season.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Major Details: Ian Browne…

Major Details: Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Fantasy Football Podcast July 24th Edition

With Training Camp starting this Thursday and the August Draft Season inching closer, Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson are ramping up the Fantasy Football content to meet the demand! Today’s podcast gives an in depth look at Pete’s Top 50 Wide Receivers Article that is LIVE on WEEI.com right now. Pete breaks down the receivers by Tiers and the podcast gives full analysis of those Tiers and the players who occupy these spots and why. Get prepared for your drafts and enjoy!

Danny O Show - Canelo vs Lara recap, Ronnie Shields

Danny breaks down the Canelo vs Lara fight and the controversy. Mike Tyson's former trainer Ronnie Shields joins the show.

Minihane returns 7-23-14

Minihane returns 7-23-14

The triumphant return of Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Steve Buckley on Tony Dun…

Steve Buckley on Tony Dungy's comments 7-22-14

Steve Buckley joined the show to discuss Tony Dungy's comments on Michael Sam.

More from this show

Sox seem to be alive agai…

Sox seem to be alive again, so are you back in?

We talk Sox after a sweep over the Royals at Fenway. We look at fan interest and how nothing in the AL East is even remotely decided at this point.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Starbucks tattoo 7-23-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

More from this show

Peter Gammons on the Sox …

Peter Gammons on the Sox and Jon Lester 7-21-14

MLB HOF'er Peter Gammons joined the show to discuss what the Sox will do with Jon Lester.

More from this show

Weei Writers