WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Feb 29, 2012|

Doc Rivers spoke to Sean Grande during tonight's pregame show about all things Celtics, including recent trade rumors.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics are presented by -- continues from TD garden that's right from way. From TD garden the first time in two weeks on the back of our home floor over a conversation with their coach remains the same brought to you by our -- -- health care. Making health care work better I don't know what to do when -- beginning by talking about the injury there's some I know this is really the first time man. I'm trying to -- at the same injury suspension news you know dislocated fingers that would ever missing the fonts. The first time I can remember you've had the same lineup going in that you need you're gonna have. There it is. Got to practice what they can play again and -- play another -- it's a trend for the second half I can go. Really it's optimism we have a lot that's. That's why I like being -- with these diluted optimism is who is out. Well there was optimism the first quarter last night and you've got to practice he said on Monday in Cleveland. Was some of the things that you he can practice on Monday is that what we saw him. There was great ball movement was was was fantastic the floor space. We had guys cutting and then we went back into our turn over vote and that changed the game -- -- the spirit of the game because. One of the things we talked about that smaller guys doing pretty good job in -- middle of a sudden it changed and I thought guys really got dispirited because they. You know it that the tow do one thing that's good they wanna do well and when -- when it wasn't going well for them in effect. You mean as opposed to teams that will check out what things are going good practice yes -- points in the -- last night that was something that solves Kevin Garnett is one example make you concerted effort to get. To get in deeper to catch and we haven't seen a lot of nights where does that particular category you Dominique. Yeah it was a a point of emphasis as well and Procter and for that game especially -- -- sleeping tonight I mean we have. Do what we did tonight offensively. Avery is even given what he did Jameer Nelson that night was that his best game laughed like yeah I thought it was his best total -- I think when leveraged. Before last night was he says some glory -- and legendary. At this position. Last Friday that -- you know -- -- -- and around the -- Mercury extremely well. He's pretty good. But what we did was he made it more difficult for curry to score and more difficult for the immediate answers that off. And more importantly he knock down open shots and he cut. When -- both the cut -- boy that was used. That's what I was gonna wanna get too because it seemed were starting to see the things. When the game slows down a little bit they slowed down defensively was always gonna do with what he can do when he found it figured out that -- -- skills but last -- there were couple moments. You can -- the team offensively just going a little slow for him and we talked but that's what second make all the difference in the world really. And he's comfortable he knows where guys are going to be there and so he's very comfortable. Tracy's in the NBA -- -- -- talking about it basically begins at midnight essentially the way this season is enough when you're playing with their times at the trade deadline is your name was sort prominently mentioned whether it's gonna vote. When you get a so no -- Obviously the only time that I -- I can remember every being in the -- The year before mystery. Right reported that line there's rumors that all of them. Break of the team and I mean nominee that you guys. You know had value and I was Smart and know what it means. -- -- and then I got that but it didn't really affect me. If there ever a time as a coach is there ever a time where it is something you dress with Hitler it's 12% on the world -- -- yeah there's time to me when you get so heated talks. I mean when. You hear about not only talks with injuries and how close they are. That affects -- in some weird you leave alone some players to auction rate last year. You know we really never had a big talk about it you know some guys we will. Is there a if they're -- -- is it different now because. Everything. Between Twitter and FaceBook and MySpace and every other possible social media outlet. There were -- there now and agents and or you know obviously heavily involved is it. Harder now or is it easier to say things register rumor because literally -- percentage of things that are made up is much greater. Well I don't know what it's it's harder. Now because some of the rumors are just silly. You know -- get into what the rumor was there was a rumor. 34 weeks ago that I can tell you it was never talked about in all our Sony's PU and I heard people talk him out of -- questions about those that while. It's amazing. I can guarantee you. It had been approached no one talked about it and our organization yet. It's new rules now. That it's a treat we're considering and I thought that that was completely under our real quick. On the books that obviously you know which again -- what Scott's house team on the other side by that one player that nobody they're gonna know the -- they don't know Ersan Ilyasova before tonight cancel singer Conan Nolan because he has not only has no. Have. That what optimism is pouring -- and he is the kind of player the year the is happening that is giving you. Well -- energy player athletic. Relentless. He relentlessly attacks that every room had a big chip in last right that's just who you isn't. He's -- he's still young I think people forget about him -- think this guy has been probably buy 427. Married at night and -- I thought when it recently for. Mean he's still very young basketball -- between people there I don't remember. 26 years ago. That's the head coach it's the Celtics if the Milwaukee Bucks and it's next WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-3…

Jerod Mayo joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots LB, Jerod Mayo, talks about the high praise he's been receiving from coach Belichick, trying to forget about last year, and what the team hopes from the defense.

Danny Amendola joins MFB, 7-30-14

Patriots WR, Danny Amendola, joined the show for a bit to talk about his health, the evolution of the playbook, and the heated battles between the offense and defense.

It Is What It Is Cast: Brandon Browner gets fired up

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Wednesday's Patriots practice, which featured Brandon Browner getting into it with Kenbrell Thompkins and a couple others.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Rob Bradford and Alex Spe…

Rob Bradford and Alex Speier talk with Red Sox Manager John Farrell

Rob and Alex talk with John Farrell about all the moves the Red Sox made at the deadline, what they gave up and what they gained.

The Hub NE Trade Deadline Show 7/31/14

Rob Bradford and Alex Speier are in and talking about all the moves made by the Red Sox at the trade deadline, because the most fun thing about the day is talking about the moves of the day. Red Sox GM Ben Cherington held a press conference talking about the Red Sox moves, and Rob and Alex talk with Red Sox manager John Farrell about the moves made at the deadline.

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes reacts to the news that he, along with Jon Lester, have been traded to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Another news blooper 7-31-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester traded to Oakland 7-31-14

John, Gerry and Meter react to the breaking news of Jon Lester being dealt to the A's.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

John Lackey is traded to …

John Lackey is traded to St. Louis, Lou's emotional roller coaster continues. 7-31-14

Lou goes through the 5 stages of grief, then John Lackey gets traded to the Cardinals.

Jon Lester traded to Oakland and Lou Merloni is pissed 7-31-14

Lou, Christian, and Tim react to the news that Jon Lester and Jonny Gomes have been traded to Oakland for Yoenis Cespedes. Lou hates the deal the move, especially because Cespedes is not arbitration eligible.

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes joins MFB to react to the news he has been traded along with Jon Lester to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

Red Sox turn over 1/3rd o…

Red Sox turn over 1/3rd of their 25 roster by the trade deadline - response and reaction

Biggest trade deadline day in recent memory for the Boston Red Sox... and not in a good way. We discuss it all as the news happens and take your reactions.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - BAD trade deadline deals edition 7-31-14

We tackle four topics, all surrounding the four worst Sox trade deadline deals in recent memory.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley

As news looms about a possible Jon Lester trade, we sit down with the skipper of your Sox live from Fenway park.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

More from this show

Jon Lester traded to Oakl…

Jon Lester traded to Oakland and Lou Merloni is pissed 7-31-14

Lou, Christian, and Tim react to the news that Jon Lester and Jonny Gomes have been traded to Oakland for Yoenis Cespedes. Lou hates the deal the move, especially because Cespedes is not arbitration eligible.

More from this show

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't wa…

Jonny Gomes: "I didn't want to go anywhere. I can't fathom any player ever wanting to leave Boston." 7-31-14

Former Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes joins MFB to react to the news he has been traded along with Jon Lester to the Oakland Athletics for Yoenis Cespedes

More from this show

Jon Lester scratched 7-30…

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

More from this show

John Lackey is traded to …

John Lackey is traded to St. Louis, Lou's emotional roller coaster continues. 7-31-14

Lou goes through the 5 stages of grief, then John Lackey gets traded to the Cardinals.

More from this show

Weei Writers