WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics - Wizards today in Washington

Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics - Wizards today in Washington

Jan 22, 2012|

Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics - Wizards today in Washington

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

-- Celtics today continues. Actually what they want to present moment like that now. 3321. This published today presented by Lexus continues from the Verizon Center in Washington DC on this conference championships Sunday afternoon. Our conversation with the head coach is brought to you by Harvard Pilgrim Health Care making health care. Were better I do wonder when that tell you the basketballs and the background so to rip it. Really think that's in the it's. So yes you're you're actually hearing the sound effects as we have this conversation yesterday or. Why don't with your all encompassing powers of that request that you will weaken even if the sound like we -- keep your exit before this each and every time it gets me in the moved thirteen. Anything we can do. Especially to take your mind off while what you call -- call -- offense after the game -- so awful it's awful. What what does that mean -- start. Well it starts with me. No it's our society. What that meant was what it was it was awful you know and today it was at a slow pace so even appropriates had a great. We would score -- night at that pace of play. We did get a lot of opens. And I think -- -- that. But there over jump shots there overtly block shots. We had no second and third options. We didn't. Move the ball and you know those things we shouldn't do those things that we. It's on me to get him to get back -- Is there is the ball getting -- into the postal or do you have guys who wore. Or where does she. Need to be it I think to vote. I think that didn't in the polls where I want I think the guys who were supposed to be in the -- argument of the post world. And out of that we have these patients off its way to get to the second and third option which is that the year. It would gory sites so it rhetorically if you're not an off from best -- that -- -- player. Or there are teams are we're not we -- opposed the we're a team that are its -- -- And we're pit -- team with on we have once mr. McEnroe player. But he's not here so we have to do the other things that you're talking about it harder for rate -- -- I think the last two dangerously guard well and I think. That's part of -- than the other part of it is yes the execution. It's one of the effect -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Avery your thoughts on his night against Steve Nash -- Friday and then today with a 180 degree difference in the guy going yeah I mean it's like. Played a knuckleball pitcher. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- I mean that's the difference. For Avery. You know. These that you would have minded. And just described in this and Steve discovered -- -- and you know you don't know Ryan retired two years ago regulatory reform. But he -- ago. It just ignite a Brandon Bass on Friday in net. Earlier we saw him take shots without hesitation almost to the point or Macs -- are having some almost comedic fun with it there already is our. Well it's more fun for us that might be for you an individual situations. He clearly is a guy who likes to shoot but shooters who are really long deep veteran great shooters when they missed the -- -- they don't mind taking the fourth does look like -- area. -- it's -- that we gotta lock him to give them there you know but listen that's that's most good players in the league you know. That's the difference between good and agree you know Larry Bird. Mrs. Porter -- he -- which it is yet. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- What -- things are total I don't care how many times you miss. To pick in the open shot. And that's easy said but it's got to it's got to get through it it will. The daughters and a lot of unlocking to do with this particular group here but if this week is any indication. He started trying to keep you I can tell you upward drift. You know there there are different. Watch on. They're the plan would about a spear. This the first time in three years that you've watched this group guys and you can say that while they're actually plan together and try to win. And it's licensee. But we're gonna miss some football early today but that will not stop me from putting you out on the limb as to. What do you think we're going to have a high rematch as I've pointed in the patriots giants went for it like don't yes you know -- that's good that's what -- for. Your thoughts on the on the events today about a month old. Wanted to -- -- that way these we have layers of scary. I think it's going to be more scores -- people that week but I think it's the pages without. You. He -- the game. -- the other game I can't call. I can't wait to watch I think there's going to be some hitting a minute updates -- -- -- for I think mystical skull. -- posted this -- turns out that way as well so that the wizards next to the WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Ha…

It Is What It Is Cast: Has Darrelle Revis' impact actually been underplayed?

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss the latest development at Patriots training camp. Chris says Darrelle Revis has looked great, and that his impact on the defense is actually being underplayed nationally.

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Christian Vazquez with Joe & Daveafter the win at Tampa Bay

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

How does Tom Brady's lead…

How does Tom Brady's leadership help the Patriots? 7-29-14

John, Gerry, and Steve DeOssie discuss Tom Brady's impact on the rest of the Patriots, plus Steve tells tales from his old days as a NFL linebacker

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Whale Watch Catastrophe 7-29-14

A whale watch boat is stranded overnight in Boston Harbor

Red Sox are destroyed by the Blue Jays 7-29-14

Clay Buchholz and Felix Doubront certainly put on quite the pitching performance, as the Red Sox were trounced by the Jays. Does this change the team's approach to the trade deadline?

Three For All: Christian'…

Three For All: Christian's girlfriend calls him out, 7-29-14

Christian tells a story about taking his girlfriend to see "Jersey Boys" in NYC, but he leaves out some crucial details. Luckily, she was listening and called the show to clarify exactly what kind of shenanigans he was trying to pull.

The NFL is taking a look at "high-stakes" Fantasy Football, 7-29-14

MFB discuss a Peter King article that suggests many NFL coaches and assistant coaches have felt increasing pressure over big-money fantasy football players. Christian also weighs in specifically on how his knowledge of game-plans resulted directly in him winning his first season as a fantasy football player.

Red Sox routed by Blue Jays as trade rumors swirl, 7-29-14

The Sox lost 14-1 as Clay Buchholz and Felix Doubront both had awful performances. On the heels of the loss, rumors began to fly regarding Jon Lester and John Lackey possibly being traded.

Have we seen the last of …

Have we seen the last of Jon Lester in a Red Sox uniform?

The tweet is a little ominous sounding. Dale, Buck and Greg Dickerson discuss what very well could be the end of the Jon Lester era with the Boston Red Sox.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Championship Hangover Edition - 7-29-14

We tackle four topics all sparked by the Red Sox worst to first to worst run in 2012-2014.

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

More from this show

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

More from this show

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

More from this show

David Ortiz offends the R…

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

More from this show

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

More from this show

Weei Writers