WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers & Sean Grande preview Celtics-Suns

Doc Rivers & Sean Grande preview Celtics-Suns

Jan 20, 2012|

Doc Rivers & Sean Grande preview Celtics-Suns tonight at the Garden

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics are presented by Lexus continues from the garden it is the Celtics in the Phoenix -- only meeting is here between these two teams. Our final piece of business is always our favorite it's a conversation with the head coach doc where were brought to you as always by Harvard Pilgrim Health Care making health care. Work better. Speaking of health care work better. Evidently we're actually health care work faster is probably -- The all right before we get to load the the consequences of what happens without -- one of the things that we saw in the game. On Wednesday night was him getting to the free throw we talked a lot but now the more he gets there the better he shoots -- want to talk yesterday about. One the other elements with not a lot of guys getting in line with the numbers. You were you were the bonus in every quarter. Yeah which is huge -- you know if you look at our numbers. Most cameras down. All three bouncer down -- start to -- Due to the free throw line is huge bills have been down there -- start the -- -- three point shoot the start to improve so those are the numbers that that we need to improve on and at least we wanna take more shots per day. And we started to them as well. All right Avery Bradley will we seem different things from him and obviously what your concern I imagine being his ability to run a team defensively seems to be taking strides this old foggy there. Yeah and that's what we're stardom. The completeness Lee's mind. -- -- -- in that room and appoint yet or may not be immediate two elements that are four -- office players with Hillary. And it gives him a better chance the -- team -- people sick and you to run the team so that's. And thankfully there's nobody on the other side is that the face an experienced. Yeah I mean it's not like she's sort of disagree -- earned over there. With the the other reason though is that Steve as early -- -- the ball right. And so that does allow. They -- the run the team a little bit better but. It was gonna have a chance to -- when there she is doing is it is remarkable. Right now. How well explained and the condition that he's in his it's pretty impressive. Well in before -- back to two Avery any point in younger guys who have their opportunity here the -- compare Steve Nash yesterday to Mohammed Ali. That's coming for you that's that's secret current -- with -- put together. Well on their absurd you just looked at me for approval yeah I think that was that was possibly going to be a sort of America America. It's that you're showing that's that's -- -- -- when he analogy you made yesterday was Steve Nash and Mohammed Ali. Well I mean they're they're very similar in their brains. When you think about Ali he was Smart and everybody towards -- of his career. He wasn't necessarily worker anymore you know the George Foreman fight. That reminds me of the -- like broke though everytime -- -- -- back tomorrow and that's what you do when he's when he's just a step ahead of everybody -- it. Adult conversation here about eight in Boston. I'm not sure people watched what -- yielded to Carmelo Anthony. -- -- -- believe me. But Georgia last year -- -- -- in being in charge it. It's east or more times ago. Into this role playing defense cigar. Were early in his career he was not known for its use the great -- -- player. And you know it just it -- your guide it loves basketball. And will do anything this on the floor. Who was he. Going to be. For people don't often scary it is for us there are young people you know get to bleeding get -- program you know when he was in college for a couple years MBA. Who was -- on track to beat the you know. -- you know I assume that the borders and so -- he's going to be the first. That's -- you're broke me just be. His ability to attack the basket from the -- And his ability to the I don't think -- now. It's -- But I think. We would have talked about LeBron. Mimicking. And he'll like we talk about who can Jordan. If radio -- -- and help. Who were you going to -- for a but it's not so whoever it is that's that -- public in sun next the WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Ha…

It Is What It Is Cast: Has Darrelle Revis' impact actually been underplayed?

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss the latest development at Patriots training camp. Chris says Darrelle Revis has looked great, and that his impact on the defense is actually being underplayed nationally.

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Christian Vazquez with Joe & Daveafter the win at Tampa Bay

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Hillary Clinton wants to change the Redskins mascot 7-30-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by John Dennis.

Jon Lester scratched 7-30-14

Joh, Gerry and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest rumors surrounding Jon Lester.

Three For All: Christian'…

Three For All: Christian's girlfriend calls him out, 7-29-14

Christian tells a story about taking his girlfriend to see "Jersey Boys" in NYC, but he leaves out some crucial details. Luckily, she was listening and called the show to clarify exactly what kind of shenanigans he was trying to pull.

The NFL is taking a look at "high-stakes" Fantasy Football, 7-29-14

MFB discuss a Peter King article that suggests many NFL coaches and assistant coaches have felt increasing pressure over big-money fantasy football players. Christian also weighs in specifically on how his knowledge of game-plans resulted directly in him winning his first season as a fantasy football player.

Red Sox routed by Blue Jays as trade rumors swirl, 7-29-14

The Sox lost 14-1 as Clay Buchholz and Felix Doubront both had awful performances. On the heels of the loss, rumors began to fly regarding Jon Lester and John Lackey possibly being traded.

Have we seen the last of …

Have we seen the last of Jon Lester in a Red Sox uniform?

The tweet is a little ominous sounding. Dale, Buck and Greg Dickerson discuss what very well could be the end of the Jon Lester era with the Boston Red Sox.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Championship Hangover Edition - 7-29-14

We tackle four topics all sparked by the Red Sox worst to first to worst run in 2012-2014.

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Producer's Podcast-Is Leb…

Producer's Podcast-Is Lebron a Genius? 7-29-14

Sam and Zach discuss changing the format of the Podcast, the Chris Archer-David Ortiz debacle, and LeBron James being a super genius

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

More from this show

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

More from this show

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

More from this show

David Ortiz offends the R…

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

More from this show

Gordon Edes: "95% chance …

Gordon Edes: "95% chance Lester gets traded" 7-30-14

ESPN Boston's Gordon Edes gave us the latest on the Lester trade talks.

More from this show

Weei Writers