WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers with Sean Grande previewing Celtics - Heat

Doc Rivers with Sean Grande previewing Celtics - Heat

Dec 27, 2011|

Head Coach Doc Rivers spoke with Sean Grande on our Celtics Radio Pregame show on Paul Pierce, Rajon Rondo and preview of game #2 vs the Miami Heat

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics tonight continues from the American Airlines Arena that again it is the Celtics and Miami Heat game to our conversation with the head coach. -- you know it by Harvard pilgrim healthcare more ways to better in these. Makes him look the same on the laptop and the person soft start strong middle orphanage. Yes it is. You know I just hope we didn't anticipate them to vote this one with there and promote the attackers being repeatedly toddlers so. You know would we expect him out to do in the so that I didn't like but I did like affected now. When you import and just -- it back into the game that you take command of the game and it's been like to finish. Noticed Gorton the last four positions. Which never happened. So you'd like. Turnovers. The tax which you know debate about that. What it's like you that. Easiest thing to do is to overreact to one game and that's our job we've three Rondo had days like that before. We talked about this for years everyone let's start but the free throws that he misses what is that the free throws that he attempts the most telling -- Absolutely and it's like rebounds -- -- you know it's clear indicator on on that he was an attack -- And what I liked about it for five of those guys when they're playing off -- that's one of the things. Two years ago it's if we're gonna play well fuse them but better to -- and -- runs -- And I thought he did -- so watch an affair of what you military where else run the -- total mr. This morning I don't know how many years of coach that that's the single best. Defense performance on the weak side that's an area where he floats and in the past. And he was absolutely real killer on on the weak side defensively he can do all those. Every day -- We're gonna have to -- What does that mean in terms of people hear you say that they what does does that mean effort is having him get him once on the court to the other night gambling revenues. Being active you know -- efforts they're summit unfortunately that means being active being alert. Reading situations but only when you can do that you have -- unbelievable weeks that focus. In a game were the news this poor roses I've seen. Beat. He stood out because it was only one. -- and so that was the good stuff. In a game in which are facing guys who are prolific and get to the free throw line you said after the game on Christmas Day. You weren't physical enough with no what does that mean and is that a slippery slope given how. Grow with us -- -- -- on the bar just you know where where does this morning covers -- as we go wild bill which hit the ball exactly where he won the -- well. Going into that game we all we talked about. You can make. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- It makes no longer position for him and we just -- you thought we play defense at report and you got your work early -- you know. And I think that we do there. Sasha starts again for Paul Pierce tonight in the interest of acquiescing to my partner who wants me to ask this question. Why Sasha it's so reticent to shoot and you drive and -- crazy and be part of this offense what we know we can't. Well telmex to when the line here. -- -- -- I don't know is the negative if market through or parking lot that she's. That's obviously what I'm trying to do with him. That we're gonna have a very good -- team and I'm not to assess when that we're gonna have what he's been. Com and that's just been directly. I think he has it and it. And you know. It's amazing when you watch -- practice does it. It's on the game you'll do. You root for history now more mental and physical absolutely youth. What kind of a sport world that we created -- this season that he had last year was some kind of failure. I don't mean. Listen. That's how we're -- to me let's just be honest media. I look at it look at it's me we won the one it's phenomenal. We went to the -- Lawson and in my mind that is that a successful season. Maybe this is how we're built. But that's how the combatants -- -- this you know the critics or do you notably -- -- I do and -- they they are scrutinized. LeBron individual or anybody in the history in the NBA team has been felt to go philosophical change in one game in the pre season but. Are they going more up tempo that reflective -- I think that's what they went through last year I think that their biggest changes they're going to the polls. I mean there's always Ron. If you allow him and listen we can track meet tonight with Burnett went to produce they receive there. We one athlete that probably compete. In the Olympics it's there. And that's Rondo. That they're there they're pretty athletic gifts here. But where others -- their picture pages LeBron and where you are posting more. And they're -- you make a choice you double which is pretty good move. And often which they can be Tucker's -- much of this is that -- of course -- -- going to be and if. -- selectivity aspects of WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Gr…

It Is What It Is Cast: Gronk will continue to smash and dash

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Rob Gronkowski's meeting with the media on Friday. Gronk said he doesn't anticipate changing the way he plays, noting that he wants to "keep smashing and dashing."

Julian Edelman After Patriots Practice, 7-25-14

Julian Edelman joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz after Patriots training camp.

Peter King of MMQB with Dale and Holley

We return to our weekly segments with the one and only Peter King of MMQB and NBC's Football Night in America.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Bo…

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, "I think Rondo is going to go, I just don't see where and how yet" 7-17-14

Jackie Mac joins the guys to discuss her thoughts on a possible mid-season tournament in the NBA, LeBron's return to Cleveland, trade rumors with the Celtics and Red Sox, and Darrelle Revis' contract situation.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston: I believe Rondo will be traded 7-10-14

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston to talk about the Lebron James Saga, the possibility of Rajon Rondo being traded, and the future of Marcus Smart.

OK State Men's Basketball coach, Travis Ford, joins MFB to talk about Marcus Smart, 6-30-14

Former coach of Celtics 1st-round pick Marcus Smart, Travis Ford joins MFB to talk about what Celtics fans should expect from the strong point guard. Among other things, Coach Ford says Smart will be a hard worker, and will improve his shooting ability.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red S…

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Christian Vazquez with Joe & Daveafter the win at Tampa Bay

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: David Ortiz not afraid of David Price, 7-25-14

Kevin Millar joins Merloni, Fauria, and Benz to discuss David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia's struggles, and Jon Lester's contract.

The Bradfo Show: Talking …

The Bradfo Show: Talking Bruins roster moves with DJ Bean, Turtleboy

Rob Bradford is joined by WEEI.com Bruins beat writer DJ Bean, as well as Boston sports fan/blogger Turtleboy to talk all things Bruins free agency. With the B's recent moves, the conversation turns to where the Bruins might next turn and what kind of dent losing Jarome Iginla and Shawn Thornton might make.

DJ Bean breaks down the first hours of NHL Free Agency 7-1-14

DJ discusses Shawn Thornton's new deal, and the on going negotiations with Jerome Iginla

DJ Bean, WEEI.com. The Bruins are not traded Marchand 6-13-14

DJ Bean joins the program to dismiss the recent rumors that the Bruins are in discussions to trade Brad Marchand to the Sharks for Patrick Marleau

How does Tom Brady's lead…

How does Tom Brady's leadership help the Patriots? 7-29-14

John, Gerry, and Steve DeOssie discuss Tom Brady's impact on the rest of the Patriots, plus Steve tells tales from his old days as a NFL linebacker

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Whale Watch Catastrophe 7-29-14

A whale watch boat is stranded overnight in Boston Harbor

Red Sox are destroyed by the Blue Jays 7-29-14

Clay Buchholz and Felix Doubront certainly put on quite the pitching performance, as the Red Sox were trounced by the Jays. Does this change the team's approach to the trade deadline?

The NFL is taking a look …

The NFL is taking a look at "high-stakes" Fantasy Football, 7-29-14

MFB discuss a Peter King article that suggests many NFL coaches and assistant coaches have felt increasing pressure over big-money fantasy football players. Christian also weighs in specifically on how his knowledge of game-plans resulted directly in him winning his first season as a fantasy football player.

Red Sox routed by Blue Jays as trade rumors swirl, 7-29-14

The Sox lost 14-1 as Clay Buchholz and Felix Doubront both had awful performances. On the heels of the loss, rumors began to fly regarding Jon Lester and John Lackey possibly being traded.

Tim Kurkjian, ESPN: Red Sox are in a tough place with Lester 7-28-14

Tim Kurkjian joins the program to discuss the Red Sox options at the trade deadline.

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Red Sox Mistakes - 7-28-14

We talk about four of the biggest mistakes the Red Sox have made over the past 30+ years.

Gronk being Gronk: Although limited in practice, GRONK IS BACK

We discuss the return of Rob Gronkowski, his comments to the media today, and what a healthy (or unhealthy) Gronk will mean for the 2014 Patriots.

Jon Lester's Contract Sit…

Jon Lester's Contract Situation and the Future

Mut and Villani are talking about whether the Red Sox will give Jon Lester the type of contract he is looking for, or whether they might be shopping him with rumors of the Red Sox scouting Cole Hamels.

The All Star Game and the Worst Ideas in Sports

Mut and Villani are talking about the MLB All Star Game, Adam Wainwright and Derek Jeter, and what are some of the worst ideas in sports.

We're all yelling about LeBron James

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

Minor Details Ep. 94.1: Are prospects overvalued? Andrew Miller on being traded for Miguel Cabrera

With the trade deadline looming, the next few days will be defined by how teams value prospects -- and their potential long-term contributions -- against big leaguers with established track records who can address immediate needs. Are prospects being valued accurately? Red Sox left-hander Andrew Miller -- once one of the two key chips that sent Miguel Cabrera from the Marlins to the Tigers -- assesses the matter.

Ian Browne reflects on 10th anniversary of Red Sox-Yankees brawl

A compelling case can be made that July 24, 2004, represents as significant a landmark as any date in modern Red Sox history. On that day, a memorable brawl between the Red Sox and Yankees served as a catalyst for an epic 10-9 walkoff victory for the Red Sox over New York and indomitable closer Mariano Rivera, a game cited by many members of the 2004 team as pivotal in Boston's first championship run in 86 years. Ian Browne, who covers the Red Sox for MLB.com and authored Idiots Revisited, discusses the landmark game.

Rob Bradford on the lates…

Rob Bradford on the latest with the Sox at the deadline 7-28-14

Rob gave the latest on Jon Lester trade talks and the flap between Ortiz and the Rays.

More from this show

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 wi…

Minor Details Ep. 94.2 with Jim Callis of MLB.com: Are Red Sox prospects overvalued?

Particularly in a year where the Red Sox have struggled while trying to integrate numerous young players into regular big league roles, accusations that Red Sox prospects are overrated -- whether by the team or writers -- have been widespread. Jim Callis of MLB.com joins the show to take stock of the matter, and to discuss the team-building impact of overrating and underrating prospects.

More from this show

Kirk Minihane on what mot…

Kirk Minihane on what motivates the media 7-25-14

Kirk breaks down the media criticism he has received.

More from this show

David Ortiz offends the R…

David Ortiz offends the Rays again 7-28-14

John, Meter and Buck opened the show by discussing the latest flap between the Red Sox and the Rays.

More from this show

Jon Lester is on the tabl…

Jon Lester is on the table, will he end up in LA? 7-28-14

We talk about the latest news surrounding Jon Lester and the Red Sox. Could he be dealt to the Dodgers?

More from this show

Weei Writers